PDA

View Full Version : Kotor 1 maps


STARWARSKOTOR2
08-15-2006, 04:25 PM
is it possible to convert the ebon hawk map from kotor 2 to kotor 1?
fred tetra has only made a few maps and i really need the ebon hawk map for kotor 1 so i can do some module editing on it! please can someone help?

Pavlos
08-15-2006, 04:28 PM
There is a little work around for that. Rename the .git and .are of your Ebon Hawk module to 001EBO and use that map. Make sure you name the files back afterwards otherwise it will look like porting ;).

STARWARSKOTOR2
08-15-2006, 05:21 PM
thanks!

goldberry
08-16-2006, 05:17 AM
Surely that won't work?

EDIT: Regardless of whether that would work or not, both posts one and two are in violation of forum rule 7.

Pavlos
08-16-2006, 06:50 AM
EDIT: Regardless of whether that would work or not, both posts one and two are in violation of forum rule 7.

I assure you that they are not. What this would include is renaming a .git and .are file temporarily to the name 001EBO. Then using the KotOR Tool Module Editor to edit them on that map, once done he would rename them back. There is no porting of assets involved here.

goldberry
08-16-2006, 07:51 AM
No, but he is saying that he wants to use the TSL Ebon Hawk map in a KOTOR mod.

ChAiNz.2da
08-16-2006, 10:08 AM
No, but he is saying that he wants to use the TSL Ebon Hawk map in a KOTOR mod.
It's the same map...

TSL didn't rebuild KotOR's EH map from scratch, they just took stuff out (mainly everything that was kewl about the original) No swoop bike, no storage, etc...

All the assets of the TSL map are available in the KotOR game other than the wall-o-pipe-gridding that Bao seems determined on fixing... that I can't safely say is legit (nor can I remember if it is actually in the KotOR version)...

The interior map should be all well and groovy... If not, one of the other mods here will quickly correct me ;)

Darkkender
08-16-2006, 05:18 PM
Also the map that Kotor Tool uses is a custom file created by Fred Tetra or one of the others who has helped him build the maps. These map files are only used by KT's Module Editor and as such are not even game assets.

goldberry
08-16-2006, 06:17 PM
Okay, if that's true then I apologise to Pavlos and SWK2 for jumping the gun.