PDA

View Full Version : Swapping Handmaiden's Head


Hoplite28
08-18-2006, 01:38 AM
I was wondering if it'd be possible to swap the Handmaiden's head for one of the PC Female's head. I was thinking of this particular head, the model used in unison with the profile icon depicted on my avatar.

I know that there will be clipping issues because of the Handmaiden's hood, but if I recall, there was a model of the Handmaiden with her hood off when right before the Exile meets Atris (though I only got this far on the XBOX version). If someone could replace the head, and then swap the standard Clothes body to the unhooded version (plus change the profile icon), I'd really appreciate it.

If no one is interested in doing this, can you guys at least point me in the right direction so that I could try it myself. I've been searching through the tutorials and the rest of the forum, but I'm still not exactly sure what needs to be done to what files. Thanks a bunch in advance.

Emperor Devon
08-18-2006, 02:38 AM
Doing this should be a simple matter. First, get Kotor Tool. (http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/). Go to BIFs/2da.bif/2DA Array/heads.2da. Once you've opened it, copy the row for the head you want, I think it's 173. Once you've copied it, paste it over the row for the Handmaiden, 171.

As for the portraits, go to ERFs/TexturePacks/swpc_tex_gui.erf/P. Extract po_PFHC07 and rename it PO_PHandM. Do the same for the other portraits that have d1 and d2 after po_PFHC07. Rename them PO_PHandM with d1 and d2 at the end for each respective one.

To get the unhooded body for the Handmaiden, go to BIFs/2da.bif/2DA Array/appearance.2da and copy row 638. Paste it over row 454. When you're finished with this, save the files to your override folder in SWKotOR2. If you don't have an override folder, make one.

If you weren't able to do this, let me know and I'll make you the tweak instead. I hope that helps. :)

Hoplite28
08-18-2006, 03:07 AM
I appreciate the extremely quick reply, Emperor Devon. I did everything that you said, though I would like to note that when I replaced the rows, the row numbers couldn't be changed back to the original. For example, when I copied row 638 onto 454, there were two 638s, and I couldn't change the new 638 into 454. I don't know if that matters.

Unfortunately for me, I haven't gotten far enough in the game to test if this would really work or not. The best I've got at the moment is the scene where the Handmaiden boards the Ebon Hawk shortly after you're arrested but the TSF. Note that this also was on a female PC.

To make matters worse, this one test didn't work. The in-game cinematic showed the Ebon Hawk, like it was supposed to. But no model of the Handmaiden, whatsoever, approached the ship. Just blank space. The game then didn't zoom in to the Handmaiden taking off her hood, because there was no Handmaiden there. Finally, the game froze and crashed. I've tried about twice now.

Any suggestions? Thanks for all the help.

Edit: By the way, I'm trying to bring a male PC up to speed so that I could go test this mod. It may take a while though...

Emperor Devon
08-18-2006, 03:47 AM
Oops! Sorry about that, it's been a while since I've tweaked anything related to the Handmaiden. This must be the tenth time I've forgotten she doesn't have a seperate appearance for when she has her hood down! Delete appearance.2da from your override folder.

When the Handmaiden lowers her hood, it's an animation unique to her model. You would have to get rid of her hood by remodeling it, something which unfortunately requires some experience in modeling to do. If you're interested in trying, there are quite a few modeling tutorials here at Holowan, and all the tools required for it are at SWKnights. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Hoplite28
08-18-2006, 03:55 AM
Curious. I do remember in the XBOX version that the Handmaiden had a model with the hood down, as seen just before she takes you into custody to meet Atris. Is the PC version slightly different, hence there is no such thing as a unhooded model of the Handmaiden?

Second question is... Is the clipping as a result of the changed head plus hood really noticable/ridiculous?

And don't worry about the mistake. I really appreciate all the help. This forum has been much nicer and much more helpful than some...

Edit: I deleted the appearance.2da, and now the Handmaiden does apear in the cutscene, but there weren't any changes to her head. Suggestions?

oldflash
08-18-2006, 04:00 AM
Same error (no handmaiden in cutscene) I've got some time ago. If you look in appearance.2da you will see 3 entry for handmaiden. Why OE was do this instead of using a single entry?! could be something wrong with this model. However, for me (pc ver of TSL) was more easy and safe to make new clean entry and use disguise function set in cloth to get hoodless handmaiden. I know nothing about xbox but I suggest to be carefull with appearance.2da Those 3 entrys are linked one with other.
Not to long time ago I find out that some characters are direct controled by game engine (hard codded). However, all my handmaiden problems has ended whith new entry in appearance.2da but you should wait for a more qualified answers about xbox modding.

Edit: I have pc ver of handmaiden with no hood (not hood down but no hood) ready for any pc head but I don't know about compatibility.

Hoplite28
08-18-2006, 04:23 AM
I'm sort of curious what you mean by possible compatibility issues. But I wouldn't mind trying out your mod, with your permission first, oldflash.

Edit: Probably will need instructions again as to portraits and swapping heads. Hopefully it'd be the same as described above...

oldflash
08-18-2006, 04:42 AM
I don't have acces to game until tomorrow. Just to check (in case I understand wrong all request like I use to do): you want handmaiden hoodless cloth for female exile or change all handmaiden heads in telos academy?

stoffe
08-18-2006, 08:09 AM
If you look in appearance.2da you will see 3 entry for handmaiden. Why OE was do this instead of using a single entry?!

I believe the Handmaiden was split between 3 different appearance types since she both has a full body+head model when wearing clothing (to avoid clipping with the hood and make it move with the head), and a body/head separated model when wearing other armor or robes.

Since an appearancetype modeltype only can be set to either "F" or "B" and not both at the same time they had to split it up, and switch appearance types when wearing different outfits. And since they have a different (but similar) full body+head model for when being Darkside they had to use a third appearancetype for that.

Hence the use of the &linenumber entities in appearance.2da to switch between appearance lines when wearing different types of outfits. At least that's my theory. :)

Hoplite28
08-18-2006, 11:25 AM
I don't have acces to game until tomorrow. Just to check (in case I understand wrong all request like I use to do): you want handmaiden hoodless cloth for female exile or change all handmaiden heads in telos academy?

Actually, the attempt was to switch the Brianna Handmaiden NPC who you get as a party member if you're male. Not an addition female Exile look, nor changing the appearane of the other five handmaiden that stay with Atris.

But yes, I would like the Brianna character to be hoodless and use the female PC head that uses the portrait shown in my avatar, as well as changing the portrait itself to the one in my avatar.

I appreciate all the help oldflash. If at anytime you find yourself losing interest or too busy, all I probably need are instructions like Emperor Devon and I'd be able to figure it out nyself.

Nevertheless, thanks for all the help.

Edit: Just out of curiousity, I know that the Handmaiden underwear reveals quite a bit of skin. I was wondering if the swapping of the heads would cause the Handmaiden to have two different skin colors. I think that the underwear one was the only body that showed skin other than the head, but isn't retexturing a pain?

oldflash
08-19-2006, 03:29 AM
@stoffe -mkb- Thanks for info.

@Hoplite28:
If you want download handmaiden no hood cloth model: http://oldflash.batcave.net/handm/handmaiden.zip
In pack you will find p_handmb.mdl, p_handmb.mdx and p_handmb01.tga

Intro. Using KotorTool you should be able to locate the ico for pc head by looking over icon textures
http://oldflash.batcave.net/handm/3.JPG
http://oldflash.batcave.net/handm/4.JPG
In your case "po_PFHC07" (info about filename: P=player, F=female, H=head, C=caucasian, 07=texture variation)
Next step is to open heads.2da and locate row which has "PFHC07" in "head" column. http://oldflash.batcave.net/handm/2.JPG Keep in mind the value from "row label" column (173 in your case).
Now open appearance.2da
Locate row 638. If you want to edit only party handmaiden appearance here is the place. On this row:
- on "normal head" column replace 171 with 173 (that number is "row label" from heads.2da for a pc head);
- on "modelb" column write p_handmb (is model from zip) instead of "&454";
- on "texb" and "texbevil" write "p_handmb" (custom texture included in zip);
- on column "race" write "p_handmb";
move to next row, save appearance.2da in override folder, put all files from zip in same place with appearance.2da and play the game.
This will affect ONLY npc party handmaiden and not handmaiden on telos docking bay or telos academy.
In same way for same effect you can modif row454 but here you need to change in "modeltype" F with B. With row 454 modified all handmaidens on telos academy will be affected.

Hoplite28
08-19-2006, 04:31 AM
Thanks once again, oldflash. I'll do everything that you've instructed. Once again though, I unfortunately won't be able to test to see if it worked until I get to that stage, and I think you know how long that would take, since I'm starting from scratch.

Earlier I posted a question about a new conflict in skin color. And since for the Handmaiden, the only other time you see skin other than on the head was the underwear model (I think..), I was wondering if rather than retexture the model, we could also swap the handmaiden underwear model/texture for that of the female PC guardian. How would I go about doing that?

Thanks.

Edit:

This will affect ONLY npc party handmaiden and not handmaiden on telos docking bay or telos academy.
In same way for same effect you can modif row454 but here you need to change in "modeltype" F with B. With row 454 modified all handmaidens on telos academy will be affected.

Wait, so doing the changes that you prescribed won't change the handmaiden cutscene where she steals the Ebon Hawk. Okay. But it won't change Brianna's appearance until she's a member of your party? So does that mean that she'd look like the original Brianna (white crew cut plus hood) when she confisticates all of your weapons before meeting Atris, when you answer Brianna's "being a force user" question, or the cutscene when she comes onboard the Ebon Hawk to join the Exile?

Because personally, it'd be nice to see the changes during the cutscenes as well, and I guess it'd be okay to change all of the handmaidens (via row 454) if it would work.

oldflash
08-19-2006, 04:49 AM
Earlier I posted a question about a new conflict in skin color. And since for the Handmaiden, the only other time you see skin other than on the head was the underwear model (I think..), I was wondering if rather than retexture the model, we could also swap the handmaiden underwear model/texture for that of the female PC guardian. How would I go about doing that?

Thanks.
No problem. But this time you need to edit columns modela, texa and texaevil.
I don't know exactly the model name and texture name but wou can look in appearacne.2da where female caucasian medium (or small or large :) ). Look what name is in modela and texa for caucasian female models and write same thing on row 638 column modela, texa and texaevil.

Hoplite28
08-19-2006, 04:58 AM
but wou can look in appearacne.2da where female caucasian medium (or small or large :) ).

Just in your opinion, would you recommend using the female caucasian large? I mean Brianna is a Soldier/Jedi Guardian. I would hate to have her body size change completely based on what clothes she wears or doesn't wear.

And sorry, I editted my previous post with an additional question, but I finished it and re-posted it after you posted your last response, so you probably haven't seen it yet.

oldflash
08-19-2006, 05:04 AM
It's same model for all 3 entry :)

Hoplite28
08-19-2006, 06:23 AM
Okay, so I did everything you told me to do, oldflash. I even made the changes for both 638 and 454 in the appearance.2da . And so far it seems to be working alright. The handmaiden at the Telos Docking Station worked perfectly. However, all of the Handmaiden at the Telos Academy were missing heads. Suggestions?

P.S. Very interesting skinning for the hoodless models, by the way. Very nice work.

oldflash
08-19-2006, 06:46 AM
Okay, so I did everything you told me to do, oldflash. I even made the changes for both 638 and 454 in the appearance.2da . And so far it seems to be working alright. The handmaiden at the Telos Docking Station worked perfectly. However, all of the Handmaiden at the Telos Academy were missing heads. Suggestions?

P.S. Very interesting skinning for the hoodless models, by the way. Very nice work.
Ops... I forgot. On row 454 normalhead column write 171 for original handmaiden's head or 173 for pc head

Hoplite28
08-19-2006, 01:23 PM
Ops... I forgot. On row 454 normalhead column write 171 for original handmaiden's head or 173 for pc head

Hmm. I had already switched it to 173..

Edit: Any other suggestions?

Edit 2: Got it to work. Just used both 173 and 171, but had them both use the same model. Thanks for the idea stoffe -mkb-.

And thanks for all of the help.

oldflash
08-21-2006, 01:53 AM
Ops... I forgot. On row 454 normalhead column write 171 for original handmaiden's head or 173 for pc head
And on "modeltype" replace F with B.

Hoplite28
08-21-2006, 02:37 AM
I got it to work. Thanks for everyone's help!

oldflash
08-22-2006, 02:49 AM
I was right. Except row 454, the others 2 rows are controled by engine to not show any headgears when modelb (cloth) is used no matter what modif. you make on that rows.