PDA

View Full Version : Bryce and Kotor


GreggyShotokan
08-25-2006, 10:59 PM
Hey Guys, I have been searching for hilts which might replace Kotor "pipe" ones. And so I found Obi-Wan's and Qui-Gon's yet the latter's link was unreachable (pcgamemods :( ) and Obi Wan's seems to be simply doing nothing to my in-game hilt. And so I began to wonder If I can create a hilt for myself and since I am pretty familiar with Bryce I created one (http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i112/GreggyShotokan/lightsaber_project01.jpg) . yet I am not sure if there is anything I can do with it for It was created in Bryce. Do I really have to use Gmax or whatever ? And how to apply the hilt to the game so it 'actually' appears in it? And I really dont understand what are 'mesh' things for?!? Thanks in advance!

Darkkender
08-26-2006, 02:13 AM
Unfortunately at some point you will have to make use of gmax or 3ds max. The reason being is the only utility to convert existing model files out to NWN or Kotor's model format is designed to be used by these 2 programs. If Bryce has a method of exporting the models to the max or 3ds format then you could post these and ask somebody to convert it for you. Also pcgamemods is back in action now.

Edit: I'm not familiar with Bryce myself in fact I've never heard of it. However if it uses some sort of script plugin feature then I might have a idea for you. The reason is that NWMax is a script plugin for 3ds max or gmax. Because of this you are able to view the source for importing and exporting the models to the proper format. If you have a hand at programming and Bryce has a similiar plugin method you could rewrite the plugin for Bryce. When I get time to return to my model tool that I've been working on there will be a direct to max import and export feature I'm hoping.

GreggyShotokan
08-26-2006, 02:20 AM
Cheers mate... Will try to do that..... Btw how did you like my hilt?

Darkkender
08-26-2006, 02:24 AM
Not bad. I didn't look at first.

021310061976
09-01-2006, 08:09 AM
bryce is capable of exporting certain mesh objects in 3ds format, which gmax can import, but it's very limited. as far as i know, bryce primitives (spheres, cylinders, etc.) can't be exported.