PDA

View Full Version : Making a new planet - editing the mdl file??


Coola
09-07-2006, 03:01 AM
Hey, im following the tutorial to make your own planet show up in the galaxy map in KOTOR. It shows up and everything, but I can't perform the last step in the tutorial to make the texture:

Hex Edit the .mdl file from step 2. Replace the one instance of the original texture name to the new texture name (eg. Find "GUI_YAVIN_1" and replace with "GUI_SLEHE_1"). Replace the 4 instances of the original model name to the modified name (eg. Find "lplanet_01" and replace with "lplanet_04"). Save the modification.

How do you Hex Edit the .mdl file? Do I need a certain program to edit the .mdl file?

RedHawke
09-07-2006, 05:30 AM
You need a Hex Editor Program... links to some are available in the Tools Thread. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143421) ;)

Hint: In the Retexturing Section. :D

Coola
09-07-2006, 05:50 AM
You need a Hex Editor Program... links to some are available in the Tools Thread. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143421) ;)

Hint: In the Retexturing Section. :D

Thanks!

Darkkender
09-08-2006, 02:20 AM
Since you likely have mdlops the renamer function button was implemented in mdlops to bypass the need to hex edit texture enties in a model. Rather than hexing the model simply click the renamer button and you should be able to find the texture name that you are looking to rename listed in the window simple rename it there.

Just for a note many of the tutorials like the one listed above take into account the methods of moding that were available at the time. However we have gained alot of new tools that supplement and make certain methods obsolete. However there is no need to rewrite the tuts because certain methods of modding are no longer needed.