PDA

View Full Version : saber collision


crail227
09-15-2006, 01:50 AM
So I'm playing with bots, as usual, and i start noticing a few things regarding the way the sabers collide with each other...i dont know if its the settings i have or something like that, or maybe im just seeing things. But when one attacks, the saber appears to go through the opponent, in which the opponent puts up his saber to block, and thats when the sabers clash. The opponent does not put up his saber first and then they clash, but the attacker's saber goes through the defender and then they clash. Of course this happens more often when two saberists are close together, however after watching the youtube videos, there is something different between my game and the others. btw im playing 0.9h.

maybe im just seeing things, and gameplay wise, it's not different. It's just the visual effects.



on a different note, the MBII saber trails i have conflicts with the new hud, it does not show the mishap bar and the FP and DP bars appear to be half full when they are really completley full. oh and with the MBII sabers i have makes this saber clash problem i have a lot worse

thanks for reading and helping

JRHockney*
09-15-2006, 02:41 AM
So I'm playing with bots, as usual, and i start noticing a few things regarding the way the sabers collide with each other...i dont know if its the settings i have or something like that, or maybe im just seeing things. But when one attacks, the saber appears to go through the opponent, in which the opponent puts up his saber to block, and thats when the sabers clash. The opponent does not put up his saber first and then they clash, but the attacker's saber goes through the defender and then they clash. Of course this happens more often when two saberists are close together, however after watching the youtube videos, there is something different between my game and the others. btw im playing 0.9h.

maybe im just seeing things, and gameplay wise, it's not different. It's just the visual effects.

Thats because its hitting off the bounding box and the bounding box isnt perfectly match with where the saber block anim goes. Ping also has alot to do with it as well for when you fight on a server. Theres very little we can do about this. Razor might know a way, but I dont think its really worth the trouble if its too complicated.

on a different note, the MBII saber trails i have conflicts with the new hud, it does not show the mishap bar and the FP and DP bars appear to be half full when they are really completley full. oh and with the MBII sabers i have makes this saber clash problem i have a lot worse

Thats because the builds after g use a different cgame dll. The MB2 sabers are code based and have an entirely different cgame dll that was based on the code of a previous buildand it overrides the 0.0.9h dll cgame, so the changes in .0.0.9h cgame that were made for the new hud dont show up. To fix this, we need to create a new pk3 with a cgame in it that has both the new changes for 0.0.9h and he mb2 saber code. I tried to add it in my self, but..lets just say that didnt go too well. :p And coding volunteers?

Sushi_CW
09-15-2006, 02:20 PM
I would love to see the "MB2 sabers" code included in OJPE's standard distribution. I suspect that there are few, if any, who would oppose it... it looks so darn good.

As far as the collision detection: there are a few things you can do to improve the effect (at least on your own computer):
1) Increase sv_fps (higher server FPS == more collision checks == detects collisions sooner)
2) Decrease the timescale(not sure which cvar) or g_saberanimspeed to .8 or so.
3) Increase your screen FPS by playing on less detailed maps and/or decreasing detail.

razorace
09-15-2006, 10:32 PM
crail227 is correct. The block animations technically start at the time of impact. That is why it looks a bit weird. I have a plan that might make the block animations play in advance, but I haven't tried it yet. :)

JRHockney*
09-15-2006, 10:38 PM
crail227 is correct. The block animations technically start at the time of impact. That is why it looks a bit weird. I have a plan that might make the block animations play in advance, but I haven't tried it yet. :)

If you have a way to do that, it might be worth while.

crail227
09-16-2006, 01:32 PM
im a sucker for visual effects, and if razor can find a way, it will really be worth while