PDA

View Full Version : Securom Issues


Mr Roboto
09-22-2006, 03:49 PM
Whenever the game checks to see if my disc is legit, it fails. I get an error that tells me to go to www.securom.com/emulation and McAfee tells me it found a trojan called Generic RootKit.b infected efipsk.sys in my temp folder. I couldn't find any info about the .b file and the efipsk.sys is an image file. I go to Securom's site and it tells me that the error is caused by having an image mounted on a virtual drive. I don't have any virtual drives and I have a real copy of the game. The only thing I can think of that would cause this problem is the fact that I have Alcohol 120 and Daemon tools installed. Like I said before though, I have all virtual drives disabled. Another odd thing is that I went through the entire game last week with no troubles at all. Now all of a sudden I can't play it. Anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening?

swinfo.txt
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=9/22/2006 1:41:00 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=1536

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2998
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=2
CPUStepping=9
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName= Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=107.47GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=SONY DVD RW DW-U18A,_NEC CD-RW NR-9100A,_NEC CD-RW NR-9100A

[Video]
Video Card Name=RADEON X800 Series
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1280x1024x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.0.5819 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON X800 XT x86/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative Audigy Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=3
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0
EnableCheats=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=127
Movie 1=239
Movie 2=255
Movie 3=155
Movie 4=255
Movie 5=255
Movie 6=63
Movie 7=6
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=6
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1280
Height=1024
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

ChAiNz.2da
09-22-2006, 03:59 PM
It's "Alcohol" from what I remebered from my past experiences...

It definitely will call it a bogus disk if you're trying to play the game with the disc in a CD/DVD Burner as well (if you have a virtual drive software installed) :mad:

I have to play KotOR (and Oblivion) in my non-burner (secondary) drive because of copy protection methods... unfortunately, many people don't have that option...

Try disabling Alcohol, re-start the computer (so there's no background processes lingering) and see if it will spin your play disc...

BTW, for the record Securom blows... it's caused me more problems than the "good" it's supposed to be trying to do.. :rolleyes:

Mr Roboto
09-22-2006, 04:06 PM
Do you mean uninstall alcohol? I ask that because I haven't even opened it in ages so I would assume it or any of its drives aren't running. I think it's just strange that it worked last week and now it doesn't.

Also, I forgot to mention that TSL works fine. Not sure if that uses the same version of securom or not.

ChAiNz.2da
09-22-2006, 04:11 PM
No, you shouldn't need to un-install (at least I hope not).. but double-check to make sure there is no background processes running that related to Alcohol (or even Daemon)..

Another thing you can try is to temporarily disabling the burning function from your drive.

A) assuming you're running the play disc from a burner
B) you're running windows xp
C) do it with extreme caution and make sure you have the drive's drivers before disabling (in case it decides it doesn't want to toggle back to burn mode)...

You should be able to do it (disable burning) within the properties of the drive itself (right-click the drive in My Computer)...

==============

Nope. TSL uses a newer version of Securom (ironically, the crappier version that tends to give everyone else problems)... odd the old version is giving you probs, but count it as a blessing in disguise.. hehehe

Mr Roboto
09-22-2006, 05:51 PM
Well, I un-installed both alcohol and daemon and it still doesn't work. I tried disabling burning capabilities and re-installing the game, neither worked.

Edit: Thanks for the help though.

SITHSLAYER133
09-23-2006, 11:06 AM
hmm i had this prob awhile ago i was lucky i just cleaned the disk and it worked another thing you could try is this go start run type Msconfig ( sorry if i sound arrogent ) go to the services tab and disable securcom if that dosnt work Try Dling the patch. {snip} Edit by d3: We don't care what your intentions are. This is prohibited here and you know it. This is your warning.