PDA

View Full Version : Some Modeling Questions


JediGoat
10-04-2006, 05:20 PM
Well basically, these are questions specific to GMAX and 3d Studio Max. I am not asking HOW do to modeling but rather what some basics are of modeling. Ok, here goes...

1) Using those programs, do you just put shapes together (neatly, of course) and ultimately put settings how you want them? I know there's a bunch of fancy stuff you can do to touch up a model, but is there really more to it?

2) Once you have what you want made, how do you prepare it to be turned into those gray ones I always see in unskinned sample screenshots? How do you actually turn it into that gray one? Can you test it in-game without the animations (given that you have the proper file conversion tools)?

3) Does it matter within what X, Y, and Z coordinates your model resides in? Also, how do you know what size your model needs to be for certain games (are those sizes in certain units, like meters)? Can't you just scale the model once it's all finished anyway?

I'll ask you guys some more questions once they come to me. I'm trying to keep my questions general for it to be easy for any experienced modelers to respond. Thanks!

Spartan 063
10-04-2006, 06:38 PM
Where can you but modeling software anyway?

JediGoat
10-04-2006, 06:40 PM
GMax is free at http://www.turbosquid.com/gmax while 3d Studio Max, Maya, XSI, and ZBrush are really darn expensive.

Wildcat'
10-04-2006, 07:18 PM
For human models, what I do is I start with one foot and start extruding up, cutting along and adding edgeloops.
I'd start out with a basic shape, but not continally place more and more on top of each other, but rather "sculpt" the single shape. You can put models in unskinned and unanimated if you want, and also the Model needs to be facing front X Axis, vertical Y Axis and on the Z axis.

Here's a couple things I recently modeled.
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g155/Wildcat_aosw/wirescout.jpg

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g155/Wildcat_aosw/wirea.jpg

JediGoat
10-04-2006, 07:28 PM
How do you do extruding, cutting, and edgeloops? :naughty:

Wildcat'
10-04-2006, 07:38 PM
Well first, get a plugin called Meshtools (it's for Gmax and 3DS Max)
And it's really hard to explain here lol. There's a bunch of great tutorials online though. Getting started is the hard part, once you get that, you're a launching rocket....that's going into space... ;)

JediGoat
10-04-2006, 08:10 PM
Any other plugins I should know about? o_0

Wildcat'
10-04-2006, 08:14 PM
Well for Empire at War you need the Alamo plugin.

JediGoat
10-04-2006, 08:47 PM
Yea, too bad that's not for GMAX.

JediGoat
10-05-2006, 04:15 PM
Sorry to double post, but do you have instant messaging by any chance, Wildcat?

Wildcat'
10-05-2006, 07:12 PM
Xfire and MSN, PM your details for any of them please.