PDA

View Full Version : modelling


Darth Maleval
10-08-2006, 07:51 AM
i want to start doing modelling but i donmt know which programs to download and where to find them free.
can anyone help me with this?

goldberry
10-08-2006, 09:43 AM
Reccomended: 3DS Max or Gmax. I imagine you should ask oldflash, or someone equally profiecent for real advice.

T7nowhere
10-08-2006, 03:31 PM
You need Gmax(I also recommend the gmax tutorials, to teach you how to use the app), nwmax(you need this to be able to import ascii.mdl files), MDLOps (( you need this in order to convert the games binary model files into ascii so that it can be imported into gmax by nwmax) KotOR uses 2 files that make up a single model, these files are .mdl and .mdx ALL of the games models need to have these 2 files.) and KotOR Tool, this app is used to browes the games files and to extract copies of them from the games.

Gmax http://www.turbosquid.com/gmax
Gmax tutorials are on the same page, I highly recommend that you Read through and complete atleast a few of the tutorials before attempting to make any model for KotOR/TSL.

nwmax http://nwmax.dladventures.com/download/NWmax-gmax-v0_7setup.exe For KotOR modeling its easy to DL version 7 of this gmax plug-in. This will install into the same directory as gmax and it will create a nwmax shortcut on your desktop which must be used to start gmax. If you use the gmax icon nwmax will not function properly and you will have difficulty exporting your models.

MDLOps http://home.comcast.net/~cchargin/kotor/index.html Download MDLOps Version 0.5.0 Read the readme's I can't stress this enough.

KotOR Tool http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

Darth Maleval
10-10-2006, 12:40 PM
thanks you guys, hopefully i can do some modelling.

EDIT:
Problem guys.....gmax you have to buy.

Mav
10-10-2006, 03:14 PM
not, that I'm aware of, 3ds max you have to buy, but gmax which basically is 3ds max without the bells and whistles, is free.

Fiestainabox
10-11-2006, 12:58 AM
Autodesk will still allow you to download Gmax, but you cannot register it. Theres a workaround to that, either buy 3ds max 8 (complete waste in my opionion, all it is is gmax with one extra tool bar, a different skin, different shortcuts, and complete lack of anything backwards compatable) Or use the gmax registration workaround found at any of your favorite search engines. Good luck!

goldberry
10-11-2006, 01:10 PM
thanks you guys, hopefully i can do some modelling.

EDIT:
Problem guys.....gmax you have to buy.

If you click on the gmax link in T7's post, DOWNLOAD is in a green box in the top right hand corner of the page. With all of this in one place, I've decided to start moddelling now.

You are now my rival! [/joke]

oldflash
10-16-2006, 06:36 AM
Download link (button) does't work for me but I found another location where gmax is stored. (http://www.fsalpha.com/gmax_tips/) Still no problem to get registration key (http://www.turbosquid.com/Support/Index.cfm?stgSupportModule=SupportGmax&FuseAction=GmaxSupportHelp)