PDA

View Full Version : GMA 950 support?


Invader J
10-12-2006, 03:59 PM
Hey y'all! Downloading Psychonauts from Steam on my computer at home - won't get a chance to play until later tonight. But thought I'd ask - my computer has an Intel Integrated graphics chipset, the GMA 950. It's not on the INcompatible cards list, but not exactly a highlight on the supported list. 64MB shared VRAM and such. It's lousy, but not the slouchiest-of-the-slouchy.

Anyone have any ideas on how Psychonauts is going to run on it, or should I set myself up for extreme disappointment when I get home from work? =\

Thrik
10-12-2006, 04:36 PM
I'm not really sure to be honest. I haven't personally seen any reports of Intel integrated cards not working, but one can't be sure.

The main thing that causes Psychonauts to not work with certain graphics card is the card not supporting at least pixel shader 1.0; without it, the game refuses to run. Fortunately, I've done a quick bit of research on your card and it looks like it supports pixel shader 2.0, which is what Psychonauts was designed to run around. So, it should run and look nice to boot.

Of course I've no idea how well it'll run, and you may have to update your drivers and whatnot to get the best performance.

And welcome. :)

SashaNein
11-03-2006, 03:55 PM
If it is anything like my Geforce 6100 onboard GPU, you would be lucky to run it at 20 FPS with 320x240 resolution. I'm assuming that by now you have already seen this.

Invest in a graphics card, if possible, assuming you have an AGP 8X or PCI-Ex16 slot in your computer. For AGP, a 9500PRO (http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&from=R10&catref=C12&maxrecordsreturned=300&frpp=50&satitle=%289500pro%2C+9500+pro%29&sacat=40156%26catref%3DC6&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D2&sadis=200&fpos=ZIP%2FPostal&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=&fsop=1%26fsoo%3D1&coaction=compare&copagenum=1&coentrypage=search&fgtp=) is all you need. For PCI-E, eh, let's say an X600 series card (http://computers.search.ebay.com/X600_Video-Cards-for-Desktop-PC_W0QQcatrefZC12QQfrppZ50QQfsooZ1QQfsopZ1QQmaxrec ordsreturnedZ300QQsacatZ40156). No need to break the bank, but make sure you have all the wires you need.

Invader J
11-03-2006, 04:07 PM
Actually, it runs very well at 640x480! Extremely playable framerate. At 800x600 is looks prettier, but frame rate isn't as good. I've been playing it at 800x600 though, and while it could stand to be better, it's a ton of fun.

FWIW, this is on a Boot Camped MacBook. =)

Thanks for the feedback!

SashaNein
11-03-2006, 10:28 PM
That's good to know. GMA 950 isn't as bad as I thought then.

mattcomi
04-10-2007, 10:08 PM
I tried to get Psychonauts running on a MacBook last night - no luck whatsoever!

It's got a GMA 950 card like you say, but I only get the error 'could not open Direct3D device'.

Were there any tricks involved in your solution? Maybe I should try the demo.

martmeister
04-12-2007, 07:22 AM
It runs on my laptop (using Radeo Xpress 200M) but very laggy. I'm thinking I just need more RAM.

I'd try the demo first.