PDA

View Full Version : Got a RAID array going ?? which/why??


Astrotoy7
10-19-2006, 04:09 AM
As I get better at building media center pcs in particular, I am finding RAID arrays to be a key feature for those of us who wish to store their entire digital media collection on their system(Just under 2TB is my max so far)

For those that want huge storage but are a bit reckless and dont care if they lose all their stuff, you can go for a RAID0, but most want some type of mirroring going on to back up stuff. Of course the more redundancy you want the more expensive an exercise it becomes as you essentially have to double up on the max drive size you want.

Im curious if anyone here is using/has used a RAID setup and why ?? How'd you find it ??

mtfbwya

Det. Bart Lasiter
10-19-2006, 09:49 PM
I used to have a RAID 0 array with two 74 GB WD Raptors (10000 RPM). It was fast, but I decided that I'd rather have more storage space instead of that boost of speed.

Astrotoy7
10-20-2006, 02:30 AM
I used to have a RAID 0 array with two 74 GB WD Raptors (10000 RPM). It was fast, but I decided that I'd rather have more storage space instead of that boost of speed.

yeah. drives are getting larger, quicker and cheaper by the minute. I picked up a 500gb seagate drive for a client the other day at a relative pittance ;)

just two of those gives you 1TB right there :) Thats alotta storage !!

mtfbwya