PDA

View Full Version : help im an MCP , A+ and pulling my hair out of my head!!!!


DreadWizardDM
01-10-2007, 08:56 PM
Ok folks I need some help lol, yeah I am a certified computer specialist and own small PC company. I havent played KOTOR in a long time and have had the MAJOR itch to play it again. So I installed the game with no problems and installed the mods I had running before from redhawk (which were great by the way). So I go to fire up the game and the thing sputters and farts and crashes my whole dang system GRRRR!!! I remember I had it working fine on my old PC with the ATI X700 PRO card after some tweaking, but now my current PC just crashes. I have updated to the latest video and sound drivers and checked all motherboard drivers, reinstalled direct X, reinstalled the game 4 times and am pulling my hair out going nuts lol. I think my new video card is too powerful for it because when I run the test hardware feature it says im not up to spec on it (yellow dot). I have a pretty new card (VisionTek Radeon X1300XGE 512 meg PCIe ATI card).

Anyways here are my system specs.

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=1/10/2007 6:39:03 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1989
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=0
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=321.37GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=HP DVD Writer 640c,TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H552B

[Video]
Video Card Name=VisionTek Radeon X1300 XGE
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 75Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.0.5949 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=VisionTek Radeon X1300 XGE x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative Audigy Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=3
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

I keep crashing to the point where the only thing I can do is to hard reboot the PC. I have run a 3 hour memory stress test and passed with flying colors also. This PC is tweaked out to handle a heavy payload and should have NO problems running KOTOR 1 .

Please help me!!! ((BEGGING))

PS: I remember when I played it before on my older system I had to mess around with it for hours to get it to run smooth.

jonathan7
01-10-2007, 10:14 PM
I must confess I didnt read your systems specs... but if you have a dual proccesors, that could be the problem, the game isnt built to be able to play with them. So all you need to do is change it so that KotOR thinks that you have a signle proccesor. Thats all I can think of, hope its of some help.

DreadWizardDM
01-10-2007, 11:44 PM
No duel processor here.. AMD Athlon 3200+

PS: I have discovered something weird.. I have the game up and running it would seem. However whenever I install certain mods it crashes during loadup. I tried to install the bulk of Redhawks mods and CRAAASH.... and yes they were for kotor and NOT part 2 TSL. I dont know if its a mod conflict or bad mods or some other kind of a conflict but its making me nutty because Redhawk has some awesome mods I really want to play with. I tried using the KMM tool but all it did was blink up in a DOS window for a split second and then vanished. I am running winxp pro.. do i need to have that tool installed in the KOTOR root directory? Do I need to create a DOS environment to run it from?

anyone... anyone.. ?

Edit: Copied post from posters duplicate thread so all info is in one place. -RH

First the problem.. whenever I try and launch the game I get to the "loading" screen and the thing goes black and locks up with the music clunking around and I cannot get out of the screen.

Things I have done
1. Reinstalled ALL the latest drivers.
2. Reinstalled the game several times.
3. Checked all the posts I could find related to the issue and followed the directions only to still be banging my head on a wall.
4. Edited the .ini file several times to try and get it working.
5. Mods in particular seem to cause a TON of problems for loading up and I have used KMM and ensured I have no overlapping mods and even tried running one mod at a time and still get the black screen of death.

Here is my swinfo and my .ini info

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=1/12/2007 7:30:17 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1989
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=0
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=320.24GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=HP DVD Writer 640c,TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H552B

[Video]
Video Card Name=VisionTek Radeon X1300 XGE
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1024x768x32 @ 75Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.0.6233 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=VisionTek Radeon X1300 XGE x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative Audigy Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
EnableCheats=1
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=75
Width=1024
Height=768

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

and here is my .ini file

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
EnableCheats=1
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0


[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves


[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=0
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=75
Width=1024
Height=768


[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=1
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1
[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67


I currently have the hallowen labs megamod pack installed and followed the directions to the letter. I have also tried totally unisntalling the game and reinstalling and running with just one mod and i keep getting the black screen of doom on loadup.

I have been battling with this for FOUR days straight now for endless hours. I hate to say it but im STUMPED!!

Could it be my ATI card?? Maybe I should go grab a BFG gforce 512 meg 9950?

DreadWizardDM
01-15-2007, 01:18 PM
Ok here is the deal... my advice for anyone having this problem is simple... take your ATI card and SELL it.. dont even bother trying. I have been in contact with people from Lucasarts and from ATI directly about this issue. My own personal conclusion was to place an order for a really nice BFG Gforce card with an nvidia based chipset. Sure it set me back 250 bucks but its well worth not having to deal with the bullcrap problems of ATI cards anymore. If this doesnt work I will just buy a dig up a slightly older PC and play my old favorites on it LOL!