PDA

View Full Version : [KOTOR] Lost modules - PLCaa, MQATester, and M25ab


Darth InSidious
01-14-2007, 11:23 AM
Apologies for not uploading these sooner, forgot about them for a while...

Click Here (http://www.box.net/public/bxyiag5lck), and then click on '3lostmodules.7z' without the quotes to download.

OR Download (http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/file/376-lost-modules-pack/) both these and the Czerka and Tatooine Temple modules at DeadlyStream.

For those that aren't modders/don't know, you put the .mod files into your modules folder ;)

The other files are for use in modding.

PLCaa contains some bizarre room animations, while I think MQAtester must have been used to show off the engine's versatility at E3 or somesuch...What the MQA stands for I have no idea...M25ab, is, of course, the cut bit of the Shadowlands from Kashyyyk :)

Screenshots:

PLCaa:
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/PLCaa.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/PLCaa2.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/PLCaa3.jpg

MQAtester:
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/MQATester.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/MQATester2.jpg

M25ab:
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/m25ab-01.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/m25ab-02.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/m25ab-03.jpg

Darkkender
01-14-2007, 12:53 PM
MQAtester probably stands for
Module
Quality
Assuarance
test area.

The same is probably true for PLCaa for that matter.

Wasn't there a module area with the Sarlac you had unearthed.

Darth InSidious
01-14-2007, 04:19 PM
Not quite...There's a temple that seems to have been made for Tatooine...That's in its own thread...I deduced that that was the entrance to the Sarlacc Pit from the large octagonal pit...But there's nothing at the end of the pit - the actual Sarlacc is missing...

Intereting on what MQA et al stand for :)

Cryptobionika
02-02-2007, 05:17 AM
I deduced that that was the entrance to the Sarlacc Pit from the large octagonal pit...But there's nothing at the end of the pit - the actual Sarlacc is missing...Some time ago I heard that the Star Map was originally planned to be placed at the bottom of the Sarlac pit, not in the Krayt Dragon's cave. I find it pretty weird, but this info came from some source after all, so maybe it's true.

Ztalker
02-02-2007, 06:14 AM
Hmmm...

I wonder though...if these modules are still there, is there something left of the 'sixth' planet (Shylon or something) as well? Because that first few screens look like nothing I've ever seen before, maybe some remains of the planet?

Anyways, nice to see this, thanks! :)

Cryptobionika
02-02-2007, 07:41 AM
As far as I know, there is absolutely no modules of Sleheyron planet. In fact, all that exists in game (cut or not) are just some referrers in dialogues. Seems that Bioware didn't have the time to even start the planet, or chose not to. In any case, there are absolutely no Sleheyron modules I've ever heard of. We know what was supposed to be on the planet, however. It was going to be a vulcanic planet, probably industrial, ruled by Hutts.
In TSL's "Fuel for Telos" quest it was mentioned by Vogga the Hutt that the fuel will be transferred from Sleheyron. I kind of expected Obsidian will include Sleheyron in TSL, but it never happened. Well, I'm getting far from topic. I already answered the question - no, no modules I've ever heard of.

P.S. Who knows what is "PLCaa" module... Might be something from Sleheyron, might not be. At least doesn't look similar to anything I've seen in KOTOR.

Arátoeldar
02-02-2007, 08:13 AM
P.S. Who knows what is "PLCaa" module... Might be something from Sleheyron, might not be. At least doesn't look similar to anything I've seen in KOTOR.

http://swforums.bioware.com/viewtopic.html?topic=275277&forum=89&highlight=

Darth InSidious
02-04-2007, 01:41 PM
@Cryptobionika: There are four, but they are literally just the room models, and have no lightmaps, no walkmesh, no layouts, no nothing - in other words, they are completely useless. There's also a Czerka depot which is complete and MAY have been part of Sleheyron.

@ZTalker: Seems unlikely. I'd guess it was another test module...

jonathan7
02-04-2007, 09:50 PM
Hmmm...

I wonder though...if these modules are still there, is there something left of the 'sixth' planet (Shylon or something) as well? Because that first few screens look like nothing I've ever seen before, maybe some remains of the planet?

Anyways, nice to see this, thanks! :)

Didnt RH do a mod fo Shylon? At least I know he added a planet as I have that mod for K1 ;) Or did he jus use exsisting modules? Its a while since I played it so can't actually remember! Out of interest doesnt anyone know where the Polish dudes that did that Yavin IV mod got the modules from? I've only seen screenies but looked good!

knightmare66
02-04-2007, 10:20 PM
There were modules for Sleheyron, they appeared in several pre-release screenshots. There was even a landing pad with the Ebon Hawk on it. Bioware obviously excised them completely before the game shipped.

Darkkender
02-05-2007, 01:04 AM
Didnt RH do a mod fo Shylon? At least I know he added a planet as I have that mod for K1 ;) Or did he jus use exsisting modules? Its a while since I played it so can't actually remember! Out of interest doesnt anyone know where the Polish dudes that did that Yavin IV mod got the modules from? I've only seen screenies but looked good!

Every area mod ever made to this date re-uses existing area modules. However it can feel like an entirely new area based on how a mod maker places them together and make the player feel new to the area.

Redhawke never made a Sleheyron mod. He made Ord Mandell and a small area mod called Weebul and Utinii's shop.

Yavin IV was also made up of re-used modules and they start you off on the Top of the Unknown worlds temple.

Now Gsccc did a storyline mod for K1 called Reign of the Sith. This mod if I recall properly had a Sleheyron area too it which was a reskin of Tatooine. ROTS also had a Reskin of Dantooine which was to make it Hoth.

Darth InSidious
02-05-2007, 07:37 AM
@km66: the landing pad was a proto-version for Dantooine - check the skybox ;)

Toris
02-06-2007, 06:20 AM
Quite Nise !!!
How you create this modules???

Darth InSidious
02-06-2007, 06:53 AM
I didn't.

They were left-over in the game files :)

knightmare66
02-13-2007, 07:12 PM
One idea just ocurred to me- has anyone checked the layouts.bif and models.bif from the Xbox version? Maybe there are more areamodels that got scrubbed out to fit on the PC install CDs.

Darth InSidious
03-01-2014, 03:09 PM
The combined pack of these modules and the Tatooine temple and lost Czerka base is now available for download (http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/file/376-lost-modules-pack/) from DeadlyStream. A link has been added at the top of the thread.

Thadius Faran
07-03-2014, 01:02 AM
First one is definitely E3 demo

Second was no doubt used to test lighting

DeathScepter
09-19-2014, 10:04 PM
I am working if we can use this modules for a new storyline mod for Kotor 1.