PDA

View Full Version : Having trouble editing the classpowergain.2DA file


kingoftheabyss
02-17-2007, 11:15 AM
I'm trying to edit this file so my level 35 Jedi Master will get 4 new Force Powers when she levels up, instead of 1 or 2.

I've tried changing all the numbers for the 35->36 slot to 4 but it still won't work...

..I've taken under consideration that it may not be possible to give a PC more then 2 Force Powers for Level-up, so i've tried to change the following 4 levels to 2 powers, but it still doesn't work in game (Where i've put in 2 it keeps giving me 1)..

..i've put the numbers under every class so there shoudn't be a problem with me choosing the wrong class...

stoffe
02-17-2007, 11:47 AM
I'm trying to edit this file so my level 35 Jedi Master will get 4 new Force Powers when she levels up, instead of 1 or 2.
(snip)
..i've put the numbers under every class so there shoudn't be a problem with me choosing the wrong class...

Changes to that file should take effect in-game, so there might be some problem with how you edit it. A few things:

What are you using to edit the 2DA file?
Did you save the modified 2DA file in your override folder?
Did you save the file in 2DA format and not XML format?
If you open the file again after having saved it, are your changes still there?
Have you made sure there are no other classpowergain.2da files in subfolders within your override folder that the game might decide to use instead?

kingoftheabyss
02-17-2007, 12:55 PM
Changes to that file should take effect in-game, so there might be some problem with how you edit it. A few things:

What are you using to edit the 2DA file?
Did you save the modified 2DA file in your override folder?
Did you save the file in 2DA format and not XML format?
If you open the file again after having saved it, are your changes still there?
Have you made sure there are no other classpowergain.2da files in subfolders within your override folder that the game might decide to use instead?


I'm using the KOTOR tool
Yes I saved it into my ovveride folder for KOTOR2
I only have the 2DA format in my ovveride
yes, after I open it again the changes are still there
No this is the only one currently

Edit: When I try editing the file again and again i've noticed that in the slot 37-38 that it will stay at 1 after every time after i try editing it to a different number (I edit that slot so it gives me 3 Force Powers and i save it to my desktop to check it out first, and when I open it stubbornly still has a 1 in that slot)...


Im using Shem's ForcePowerGainTSL classpowergain.2DA file as a template to change...I save the editied file to my desktop but it also puts K2TemplateTags.bfd and K1TemplateTags.bfd on my desktop also. (Note:these files were in Shem's Mod along with the classpowergain.2DA file)..

..What do I do with these Files?

Edit 2: I've recently tried leveling up my other force sensitives and my Recruitable Dustil seems to be the only person who's getting the 4 Force powers for level...

Any answer to this or my previous questiond about the K1 and K2Templatetags.bfd filed would be appreciated

stoffe
02-18-2007, 08:25 PM
Any answer to this or my previous questiond about the K1 and K2Templatetags.bfd filed would be appreciated

Files with a BFD extension are not used by the game. They are data files used by KotorTool.