PDA

View Full Version : Module Editing - My module keeps resetting when I load a game there


Ulic and Cay
02-25-2007, 11:00 PM
I'm trying to fix some of the issues with the Peragus and Harbinger modules that our friends over at TSLRP have decided to leave unresolved. All is well except for the fact that I have no idea how to properly edit a module. I'm making a change the height of a camera and the appearance of one of the characters in 102PER. At first I tried simply editing the .git and .utc files and putting them in the override directory. This worked fine but if I load a saved game in that module all the creatures and items as well as any of the map I may have explored will all be reset. I then tried extracting the entire 102PER.rim, 102PER_s.rim, and 102PER_dlg.erf to a folder, making my changes, and then building a .mod file from them. I placed this in the modules folder but had the same problem when I tried to load a game. What am I doing wrong?

Tupac Amaru
02-26-2007, 10:15 AM
Changes in the .git won't show up if that module has already been loaded. The same goes for the .utc if the character using that template is already present in the module. You need to use a save before you entered the module.

Placing a module .git or the .ifo into override will mess up the game. Either build a .mod like you did or put the modified file back into the .rim. Other file types like the character template can be put into the override folder as long as the filename is unique.

Ulic and Cay
02-26-2007, 10:48 AM
The .mod I made had the changes I wanted. I enter the area and everything is fine, my change is made. However if i then save a game in that area and reload it all the enemies I've killed and all the items I have picked up are respawnd. Any of the map I have explored is again covered. That's not normal when you edit a module is it?

Concerning your suggestion about putting my modified files back into the .rim, how do I do that? Is there a .rim builder with KT that I'm missing?

Thanks for responding.

deathdisco
02-26-2007, 11:33 PM
Sounds like you have a copy of the .git file in the override folder. That will always load the area as new, even from a save. Of course if there are any globals set from the previous load it will mess things up in the module also.

Ulic and Cay
02-27-2007, 03:38 PM
I'm not sure what you mean about globals being set. Are you saying that if I create a new .mod file with my modified files and place it in my modules folder. Then start a new game so that it is impossible for me to have been to this module before my changes were made. That if a global is set on my play through, and I were to then save and load that save the module will be messed up as I described above?
If this is the case doesn't this happen all the time when module editing? How could anyone hope to create a workable module if you can't save while your character is in it?

Tupac Amaru
02-27-2007, 04:11 PM
Concerning your suggestion about putting my modified files back into the .rim, how do I do that? Is there a .rim builder with KT that I'm missing?This can be done with ErfEdit:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=165051

I'm not sure what you mean about globals being set. Are you saying that if I create a new .mod file with my modified files and place it in my modules folder. Then start a new game so that it is impossible for me to have been to this module before my changes were made. That if a global is set on my play through, and I were to then save and load that save the module will be messed up as I described above?Just setting a global can't cause this. Have you checked if the .git is still in override as deathdisco said?

deathdisco
02-27-2007, 04:25 PM
I only brought up globals in relationt to having a copy of the .git file in the override folder. Everything would load as new but some things that were dependant on global checks might not work properly. My previous post was unclear/poorly worded, sorry.

You still have not confirmed if you have a copy of the .git file in the override folder or not. The .git should be packed in the .mod, not placed in the override.
We have to rule this out before we can move on to trying other options.

Ulic and Cay
02-27-2007, 04:30 PM
I deleted the .git when I decided to try and make a .mod file. I've since rechecked to make sure and it is in fact gone.

Maybe I'm making some mistake in the process. I followed Doom Dealer's guide as closely as possible but let me make sure I'm doing this correctly.
First, I extract all the files in the .rim's, the .git, the .ifo, the .are and (because I want almost an exact copy of the module) all of the characters, doors, items, placeables, sounds, triggers, waypoints, paths, scripts, and dialogs from the ERF.
Second, I replace the two files I have changed the .git and one of the character .utc's
Third, I use the ERF/MOD builder. I add all the files select MOD as my output type and name it 102PER.mod
Fourth, I put it in my modules folder

Should I be naming it something other than 102PER? Should I not be extracting the dialog from the ERF and included that in the .mod? Do I need any of the files from the BIFs? Do I have to delete the original 101PER_s.rim 101PER.rim and 102PER_dlg.erf? Is there anything I'm missing?

Thanks guys I appreciate your help.

Ulic and Cay
02-27-2007, 04:53 PM
Placing a module .git or the .ifo into override will mess up the game. Either build a .mod like you did or put the modified file back into the .rim. Other file types like the character template can be put into the override folder as long as the filename is unique.

Repacking my altered files back into the .rims and then replacing the originals worked fine fixing my problem, however, I would still be interested in finding out what is wrong with my .mod file. It would be preferable to preserve the original files for uninstall reasons.

deathdisco
02-27-2007, 05:00 PM
I've never tried to edit an existing module so I'm mainly speculating here. Re-name the original .rim and *_s.rim to some thing else. I'm not sure if you need to pack the dialogs in the .mod but it should still work if you do.
Do I have to delete the original 101PER_s.rim 101PER.rim
I assume this is a typo and you meant 102PER? You stated the name of you .mod as 102PER.mod

If that doesn't work I would try what Tupac Amaru posted and use ErfEdit and replace the original files in the existing .rims with your modified ones. I'm not familiar with that tool but it should be pretty straight forward.

Edit: you posted while I was writing so disregard the last part of my post(the ErfEdit bit).

Ulic and Cay
02-27-2007, 07:44 PM
Hey ummm I have no idea what was going on before but it seems to be working now. I'm able to compile the .mod with my new files and it works fine. I guess I was doing something wrong, who knows what though... So this thread isn't a complete waste I'll point out that nothing special needs to be done to be done to edit an existing module. Creating the .mod and putting it in the modules folder (despite my remarkable first few failures) works fine. No renaming of the .rims or .erfs required.
Thanks again deathdisco and Tupac Amaru sorry to waste your time...