PDA

View Full Version : Czech Text


Mkem
03-01-2007, 01:36 PM
I just wan't to ask, if i can make the Czech Language for Dark Forces mod (When it will be complete).

Can I?

Fracman
03-01-2007, 01:50 PM
Of course you could do, language modifications are not that much complicated.

You will need a texture with the Czech font characters,
and translate all strings.
There is one or two place in some script or menu file where the option for Czech language has to be added, then it will work.

You can take a look at the Polish translation that already exists in the demo.

Mkem
03-02-2007, 05:04 AM
Well, how can i make that texture?
Oh! And if I will make the Czech Language, will I be in the credits?

Mkem
03-02-2007, 05:14 AM
I looked on the Polish translation, then at the polish font *.tga file and it was completly white and there was some "polish.fontdat" file. How can i make a *.fontdat file?

ensiform
03-02-2007, 11:48 AM
you need a program that lets you view the alpha channel because that is where you will find the characters.

Mkem
03-02-2007, 12:24 PM
OK. Where can I get that program?

ensiform
03-02-2007, 02:05 PM
photoshop, gimp, paint.net, etc...

Mkem
03-02-2007, 02:50 PM
And the *.fontdat file? What program?

Fracman
03-02-2007, 05:08 PM
this comes with quake3 or quake4 sdk tools.
it tells the game engine which part of the TGA texture to use for which character, letter or number

ensiform
03-03-2007, 12:13 AM
And the *.fontdat file? What program?

You don't specifically open this up. There is a utility with the OJP source that you can convert fonts to the fontdat file.