PDA

View Full Version : Floating Texts Won't Play VO


Ulic and Cay
03-03-2007, 02:42 PM
I can't get Atton or HK-50's VOs for their floating texts to play. For example in Atton's 101atton.dlg he has float text that says things like "I thought you were going down into the mining tunnels." and "Stupid computer." etc. There are VO recorded for these lines and are referenced in the voice over ResRef field but they won't play. Is there something else that must be done to get VOs for floating texts to play?

Pavlos
03-03-2007, 04:18 PM
I'm on a computer that doesn't have KotOR installed and has a slightly annoying keyboard so forgive me if I am wrong. I believe the lines in the dialogue files are merely used as placeholders. Atton's Peragus heartbeat calls a BarkString() function (and, again, I'm not entirely sure as to which one) which barks StrRefs. The problem is that they do not have the correct audio file attached to them. If you use stoffe's TLK editor you can attach the relevant voice over file to each StrRef.

Good luck.

Ulic and Cay
03-03-2007, 05:36 PM
Dude you nailed it. Thanks.