PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR Save Problems (WOTOR)


Masaru
03-23-2007, 04:19 AM
Okay, something's wrong with my copy of KOTOR. Since I installed the 'Weapons of the Old Republic' mod, I couldn't load my save games. Even if I saved, and three seconds later I tried to load it, the bar would reach about 1/4th way and just stop. I've left it for five minutes, and it would just sit there (even though I could alt+F4 out). I uninstalled and then reinstalled the game, and now I'm still getting the problem, even with all of the files in the Override folder removed. I dunno what to do at this point. Anybody have an idea of what's wrong?

jonathan7
03-23-2007, 04:30 PM
Thats because you've changed the setting you would need to remove WOTOR for previously saved games to work probably. You will need to start a new game to play with the WOTR mod.

EDIT; Just re-read what you said, did you have any other mods installed with the previous saved games?

T7nowhere
03-23-2007, 05:14 PM
You should be able to load any save game prior to installing WotOR.

What you describing though sounds like something is not being found by the game when its trying to load. I have seen that happen when mod files were removed from override that a save depended on, but never with a save that didn't depend on any files.

But I have also seen that happen with corrupted save games.

Are all of your saves unusable?
Did you use the installer provided with the mod?
Did you have any other mods installed before installing WotOR?

Masaru
03-23-2007, 07:45 PM
Previous to WotOR, I had RedHawke's Mission/Carth/Cand Jedi mods, the Movie Style Robes, the Stormtrooper Mod, the Purchasing a Droid mod, and the Taris Super Skip, as well as a few edits for the Jedi Sentinel's skills list I made, all put in before WotOR.

Yes, I've checked all of my saves. They stop loading at about the 1/4th mark. I've even taken time to start a brand new character on the Endar Spire, make a save, and then load it, to get the same results (with the mod installed and then uninstalled, then with KOTOR uninstalled and reinstalled.)

I did use the TSLPatcher to install it, although I had to manually put 'dan14_Sherruk' in manually, because I had modded that one myself.

jonathan7
03-23-2007, 07:58 PM
Hmmm, that sounds really strange. It sounds like for some reason your saved games are corrupting. When you reinstalled the game did you delete the entire KotOR directory as well? I've not really heard of anything like this so don't think I can be of much help. I'm sure some of the mods like T7, Chainz and RH will be able to figuer out whats going wrong.