PDA

View Full Version : [TSL]what kind of file would crash game upon an entry


logan essex
03-29-2007, 04:38 PM
what kind of file is causing my game to crash upon entering the jedi enclave sublevel?
any ideas?

stoffe
03-29-2007, 04:45 PM
what kind of file is causing my game to crash upon entering the jedi enclave sublevel?
any ideas?

Could be any overridden game data file used by the level that is corrupt, or a texture that doesn't have the correct dimensions, or an overridden script that does something bad. Hard to say without knowing more specifics about what's going on. :)

Pavlos
03-29-2007, 04:46 PM
Do you have a file called "module.ifo" in your Override? The game really does take exception to you placing one of those in the Override.

logan essex
03-29-2007, 04:55 PM
sorry, should have been more specific. when i try to enter the sublevel it starts loading and at 90%, it crashes.
---
i have no file called module.ifo at all in my game according to a search

glovemaster
03-29-2007, 05:23 PM
if you have no module.ifo in your game at all i would be worried.. There should be one with every module.

logan essex
03-29-2007, 05:35 PM
on searching `ifo`--i find pifo.ifo in my temp folder and saves. what is module.ifo?

-p.s.-thanx for help, guys

glovemaster
03-29-2007, 05:49 PM
modules.ifo is an essential part of a module, you find them in all of the modules ERF files. I think your game will need to be reinstalled. I can't see how any other of your modules have worked without them?

stoffe
03-29-2007, 06:12 PM
sorry, should have been more specific. when i try to enter the sublevel it starts loading and at 90%, it crashes.
---
i have no file called module.ifo at all in my game according to a search

To clarify, the module.ifo files are not files you can find within the file system of your computer. They are packed inside the RIM files for each module. So if you can't find any IFO files within your game's folder that's good. :)

Do you have any mods installed that modifies any textures that might be used in that area, or by characters in the area (like robes/sabers/weapons used by the characters there)? If a texture does not have the proper dimensions it may cause the game to crash.

If not, do you have any mods installed that places new things in the sublevel or modifies the Disciple or other characters/monsters present there?

logan essex
03-29-2007, 06:34 PM
yes to all of those.
i have some dantooine reskins i did(never finished), but have never had a prob with them before. i`m using final touch mod and veridian echo. this is the 1st time i have used viridian echo.
last night i renamed my override folder, and made it in and out. Then rerenamed the folder, but that wiped out my high-level force powers(mabye other stuff, also, but im determined to solve this)
at present, i am slowly deleting sections of override to narrow down and find the problem file
thats 2,469 files. YIKES!!

logan essex
03-29-2007, 07:35 PM
Found it!!
P_DiscipleH
i1m guessing some conflict between viridian and final touch
so i copied the viridian disciple files and overwrote them in the override folder. and now it works.