PDA

View Full Version : Unable to find most 'large' (soldier) models in models.bif (Aurora Model)


someone1074
03-30-2007, 03:18 AM
Basically I wanted to simply edit the player models for the soldier (or large) body type and found the two models for underwear and clothes (the very first outfit in the game, and the first outfit you find in the chest next to the bed).

Editing those proved simple enough (all I did was make the character appear more muscular, nothing complex). The problem is that not 2 minutes into the game I picked up the combat suit. While I wouldn't mind editing this one as well, I found that the models.bif only had the combat suit for the medium and small size characters. There was no large model for the combat suit to be found.

Using the player model code, I realize 'c' in the place of 'a' or 'b' where underwear or clothes would be was the combat suit. However there are only two models:

pmbc.mdl and pmbcs.mdl

there is no pmbcl.mdl. Strangely there should be, because renaming the edited pmbc.mdl in the override folder to pmbcl.mdl did in fact replace the model in-game. However the model was unanimated and his head was missing. This makes sense since I only renamed the model and nothing else in the model matched.

So I guess I'm trying to find out where I could find the 'large' or 'soldier' models for the rest of the armor in game. I'd like to edit them all before continuing since I'd like to play through the game in one smooth run.

Appreciate any information you have. Thanks in advance.

stoffe
03-30-2007, 07:56 AM
pmbc.mdl and pmbcs.mdl

there is no pmbcl.mdl. Strangely there should be, because renaming the edited pmbc.mdl in the override folder to pmbcl.mdl did in fact replace the model in-game. However the model was unanimated and his head was missing. This makes sense since I only renamed the model and nothing else in the model matched.

So I guess I'm trying to find out where I could find the 'large' or 'soldier' models for the rest of the armor in game. I'd like to edit them all before continuing since I'd like to play through the game in one smooth run.

Appreciate any information you have. Thanks in advance.

The data files for KotOR1 are in a disorganized mess, spread out over different BIF files for no discernible reason. The model is question can be found inside items.bif instead of models.bif. Also keep in mind that the resource list in KotorTool isn't sorted in alphabetical order, it lists the resources in the order they occur within the KEY/BIF files. Thus files named nearly the same won't necessarily be listed next to one another in the list.

You can use tk102's FindRefs utility (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=137588) to locate where a particular resource is if you don't want to search around for it manually. :)

someone1074
03-30-2007, 10:38 PM
Awesome, a fast reply and exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks a lot!