PDA

View Full Version : PC problem with KOTOR I


tnu
04-15-2007, 04:20 AM
I can't move. or i can barely controle it. the only way i can move is to target something but I can't move wit6hout doing that. i'm stuck on the Spire

Trex
04-15-2007, 06:53 AM
Well if you're only on the Endar spire, my advice would be just to restart it then see if the problem persists.

stoffe
04-15-2007, 07:14 AM
I can't move. or i can barely controle it. the only way i can move is to target something but I can't move wit6hout doing that. i'm stuck on the Spire

Have you checked the game's settings to verify that they movement controls haven't been messed up for some reason? If you can't move normally it seems like you aren't pressing the key to move that the game expects.

Which method are you using to move? Keyboard or holding down both mouse buttons?

kotor_freak
04-15-2007, 11:29 AM
you can hold down both mouse buttons to move? Wow, never knew that :D

Anyway, like Trex said if you aren't far on the game start again and see if it happens again, if it does then something must be messed up with the controls.

Gargoyle King
04-15-2007, 12:03 PM
you can hold down both mouse buttons to move? Wow, never knew that :D

Anyway, like Trex said if you aren't far on the game start again and see if it happens again, if it does then something must be messed up with the controls.

It could be control related. However i had the same problem one time but i checked my control mappings and they were correct. The reasin this was happening is because i din't have the correct system specs. for the game (needed more RAM) but i later upgraded a bit to get the required specs and the control problem went away. I assume, however that you have the right system specs. and thus my solution doesn't really help you.

Ctrl Alt Del
04-15-2007, 01:28 PM
^f your problem isn't of a control matter, then your specs may don't match with the recommended. Are you experiencing any lag at all?

Son of Skywalker15
04-15-2007, 06:56 PM
Great boards, I'm glad I found them :)

Anyway, I'm also having a problem with Kotor on my PC. I've beaten both for the Xbox, and decided to use the PC for some mods and such. I'm up until you go into the Under City. When I get off the elevator, it starts to lag then lines appear to shoot across the screen. It then shuts down or freezes... Any help would be most appreciated :) .

Ctrl Alt Del
04-15-2007, 08:49 PM
^ Are you using mods?

If not, then your problems is clearly with the video. The Undercity is really a wide opened area, full of NPCs and details. Try lowering graphics.

Son of Skywalker15
04-15-2007, 09:02 PM
Nope, no mods. I've lowered them to Medium and it lets me go into the Under City and then I had to get off. I'll lower them to "Low" and they might work. Thanks, though :)

Ctrl Alt Del
04-15-2007, 09:34 PM
You're welcome. I'ts, after all, a video issue.

You could try (I recommend) to add this line on the archive swkotor.ini, under "[graphics options]:"Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1" (no quotes)

And try to disable the grass and/or the shadows, I think that'll work.

Son of Skywalker15
04-16-2007, 04:54 AM
It did! :) Thanks again.

Prime
04-16-2007, 09:58 AM
Moving to the workbench...