PDA

View Full Version : [TSL]Adding inventory to exsisting containers


oscarksp74
04-16-2007, 10:05 PM
Is there a way to open .utp files not in the override directory in order to add / change inventory items in them? I.E. I am wanting to add an armor set to the container onboard the Harbinger found in the player's room (the same one that the player's armband is found in).

glovemaster
04-17-2007, 02:58 AM
try using the whereami armband to find out the containers name and then using KotOR Tool, extract the file and add the armour to the container by opening it in KotOR Tool and pressing the "inventory" button, If the armour is a custom item you would be better using kgff or a gff editor. Then place the modified UTP file in the override

RedHawke
04-18-2007, 12:18 AM
That's nice Glovemaster, but that is how it is done in KotOR I not in TSL.

TSL re-uses the same filenames through the different modules, so plopping a utp file in the override is a potentially game breaking thing to do now... as such you actually need scripting to add items to containers, or more simply, spawn a new one of your own creation instead. ;)

glovemaster
04-18-2007, 02:19 AM
:S Oops! Sorry about that, i forgot this was for TSL.. :(

oscarksp74
04-19-2007, 10:03 PM
Thanks for the replies. Redhawke I read your tutorial on scripting in containers, that worked great. For this particular application would I not be able to do the same thing to the script that controls this particular pre exsisting container (the one with the player armband), and simply add on items and then recompile the script? And if so does anyone know the source script extension that controls this particular container.

RedHawke
04-20-2007, 12:53 AM
There isn't a script that 'controls' that container, it is a pre-placed container present in the rim file for that module with a pre-determined invantory.

To add to the invantory of the Harbingers Exile's Room's Footlocker placeable you will need to make a custom script that adds items to that container that is run from some in-game event, which is not a terribly easy thing to do if you don't know the NWN scripting language. Hence my statement "or more simply, spawn a new one of your own creation instead." as we have tutorials for that. ;)