PDA

View Full Version : OJP Bots


Wytchking
05-02-2007, 04:11 PM
I was just wondering if someone could make it so bots used their skill points as at the moment bots never use force powers or guns. It would also be nice to have an upgrade to the cleverness of the bots but I know this is never going to be a particularly high priority compared with Hybrid balancing etc.

DarthDie
05-02-2007, 04:19 PM
I think they do spend skill points based on bot file...at least i think thats what someone said...-- if so then i guess they havent been setup to use force/guns?

razorace
05-02-2007, 05:51 PM
Yeah, they will distribute their skill points in the Force skills based on their bot file, but the bot file doesn't include anything about the weapon skills. However, this is fixable since bots do have weapon preferences, which could be converted into skill point selections.

Bug ticket the problem. It sounds like I just forgot about it.

bjusterbaarlik
05-03-2007, 07:19 AM
How about getting rid of the whole 'forceinfo' variable in the botfiles and use the 'BotWeaponWeights' system for Force powers as well? The first two values of forceinfo are not really used anymore anyways, since there is a whole different skill system and you don't explicitly choose for the dark or light side either.

This is all just a suggestion and at the same time a guess, since I do not know if this is doable. However, if this will be done, I am always able to help with changing around all the individual botfiles.

razorace
05-03-2007, 12:04 PM
Well, my experience has been that completely new OJP editing features go unused. As such, I think it's better to go with a system that works with botfiles out-of-the-box.

TheShaman
05-03-2007, 12:34 PM
Hum, actually I've seen tabbots pull a weapon out and shoot at me... but maybe they picked it up on me when I died earlier, not sure...

DarthDie
05-03-2007, 12:45 PM
Aye -- they only use weapons if they pick it up....then they just sit there and shoot it till it runs out of ammo.

TheShaman
05-04-2007, 11:21 AM
Also in Jedi master gametype they use their pistol.

tarbaby
05-26-2007, 01:08 AM
i just posted a ticket on this. can you give bots a set of priorities to follow when spend their skill points? i.e. 1st priority weapon, 2nd priority offensive force, 3rd priority defensive force etc. i went into greater detail on the ticket.

thanks

tb

razorace
05-26-2007, 02:15 PM
Right now, you can basically assign what their ideal/final skill selections would be.

However, if they don't have enough points in those skills, they fall back on the standard "you-don't-enough-points" behavior which attempts to remove skill assignments until the player isn't over their limit. Unfortunately, that system isn't the smartest, and it would be pretty hard to improve on it.