PDA

View Full Version : Help With Jekk Jekk Mira Bounces off the Door


LRP
05-08-2007, 11:11 PM
I am at the part of the game where Mira has to go into the private lounge. I click on the door and she starts dashing back and forth, back and forth towards the door, first to the door, going a short ways and turning, trying to go back through the door.

Only way to even stop this is click on another patron! Needless to say, I can't go any further in the game, and I cannot figure a way through the door.

Is this a bug? I've tried approaching the door from every angle, and I've tried using my letter keys to access it, always with the same result.

Thank you.

PoiuyWired
05-09-2007, 05:06 AM
you got bugged dear. load the (prefarably) last savegame. Also, a patch may solve the problem.

Marauder's Fury
05-09-2007, 11:59 AM
Seems your graphic card is outdated or graphic settings are too high. Try lowering graphic detail, turning down visual effects, etc. Walking (using the B key) also helps.

LRP
05-09-2007, 01:47 PM
Seems your graphic card is outdated or graphic settings are too high. Try lowering graphic detail, turning down visual effects, etc. Walking (using the B key) also helps.


I thought it might be a bug also, I read the boards on the dangers of saving. I had a game where I escentially replayed most of it up to the ship raid. I made saves INSIDE the ship, went out, and did not save the entire time up to that scene and same thing :).

I've got a nvidia 7900 gt/gto with latest drivers, I defrag often, matter of fact I tried that to.

The first time this happened I had one save during Atton's fight with the twins, loading from there I strange thing of Mira showing up in her clothes, and I got she couldn't open the doors heeh, so I actually got the scenario of bouncing off the door while in space suit and that one. SO I thought it might have to do with saving the game. *sighs*

IF there is a cheat code to bump you into an area? I've never used the cheat console though. I'd need help on exactly how :).

I have a few mods in, mainly reskins and such. Nothing really messing with global variables.

Needless to say I can't finish my game at all. However I will go set the graphics way down :). That's how I win swoop races and such. So walk is the B key on the computer? I'll try that also.

Edit: Okay I tried lowering graphics, I tried as I said before playing virtually the entire area being careful of saves, and no luck with this.

I can use the the KSE at least some, I'm no expert but with explicit directions I can. Is there SOME way to open that damn door? I really have had no problems with the game up til now!

Darth333
05-09-2007, 02:16 PM
The first time this happened I had one save during Atton's fight with the twins, loading from there I strange thing of Mira showing up in her clothes, and I got she couldn't open the doors heeh, so I actually got the scenario of bouncing off the door while in space suit and that one. SO I thought it might have to do with saving the game. *sighs*
That part of the game can become totally messed up if you happen to save and reload at the wrong moment. I never checked the scripts and my game is currently uninstalled but it seems like some variables aren't set as they should when you reload during that battle (or after passing the door leading to the docks after receiving an invitation from Visquis).

Only way here would be to reload a savegame from before entering the docks (save right before opening the door leading to the docks and you should be safe), after the battle with the Red Eclipse and before meeting up with Hanharr or Mira on the docks, depending on your alignment.

LRP
05-09-2007, 02:33 PM
That part of the game can become totally messed up if you happen to save and reload at the wrong moment. I never checked the scripts and my game is currently uninstalled but it seems like some variables aren't set as they should when you reload during that battle (or after passing the door leading to the docks after receiving an invitation from Visquis).

Only way here would be to reload a savegame from before entering the docks (save right before opening the door leading to the docks and you should be safe), after the battle with the Red Eclipse and before meeting up with Hanharr or Mira on the docks, depending on your alignment.

Darth, during which battle are you talking about? Those variables would be set during the battle with the slavers on your ship? I have a back save where my character has done some of the quests in the pad, but none others. That's where I did a play through again, and got the same results.

I did do a save during that battle. It was when I had cleared out the slavers in front of the ship and before going inside the ship itself. THEN inside the ship AFTER all the battle is over, I did another save. Then I took Atton and Micha out with me, and Atton gets the message from Visquis. From there on I simply did not save the game at all but did a play through up til the time Mira gets the spacesuit and tries to open the private lounge door. I get same thing happening. She opens every other damn door just fine in there.

So are what you are saying, is make no saves from the time you start battling the transidorians or from the time I first get to the planet and enter the docks? I do have a save from that point also. :) I am a a big believer in saves.

I guess I could try playing that slaver run with letting their leader live :). My character is very LS so I have never picked that option but I could try that.

BTW

THANK YOU everyone for trying to help. I really want to play the game!

Darth333
05-09-2007, 02:58 PM
So are what you are saying, is make no saves from the time you start battling the transidorians or from the time I first get to the planet and enter the docks? I do have a save from that point also. :) I am a a big believer in saves.

I noticed the issue when I was playing on the xbox before the PC version was ever released so I never bothered investigating this further. What I remember is that you can safely save the game at anytime after the battle with the Red Eclipse and receiving Visquis' invitation but before entering the docks to go to the meeting with either Hanharr or Mira. After that, I used to avoid saving until the moment I was able to enter Jek Jek Tarr with my own char.

Marauder's Fury
05-09-2007, 03:12 PM
I thought it may have had something to do with your graphic settings, because I used to have the exact same problem in my old computer, too. I had to turn off everything I could and lower the resolution to 800x600 in order to get past the bar. Then again, I never modified my game up until a month or so ago, so I don't know what adverse effects mods would cause.

LRP
05-09-2007, 03:16 PM
I noticed the issue when I was playing on the xbox before the PC version was ever released so I never bothered investigating this further. What I remember is that you can safely save the game at anytime after the battle with the Red Eclipse and receiving Visquis' invitation but before entering the docks to go to the meeting with either Hanharr or Mira. After that, I used to avoid saving until the moment I was able to enter Jek Jek Tarr with my own char.

You're totally correct here :). I tried a reload from the autosave where Atton tells the others about the bounty hunter after the twin sisters deal :) that's where sometimes Mira shows w/ a spacesuit and sometimes in her regular clothes and you get the message the door cannot be open heeh.

But playing before that time, making no saves what so ever, I am talking prior to entering the docks where Atton runs off I still get Mira bouncing off that door.

I just have no idea why. I saw a similar thread in the tech boards, but that guy has no answer either and a reinstall of his game didn't solve it. Nor were there any answers for him either that worked. I guess I'll go to modder boards and ask people how to use the KSE to try to modify the game enough to open the damn door. Otherwise *shrugs* I guess I'll never finish this game, maybe I can get my money back? I assume all support from Lucas Arts is just not there anymore, there's no way to go on with the game, if I can't get Mira through the door.

I thought it may have had something to do with your graphic settings, because I used to have the exact same problem in my old computer, too. I had to turn off everything I could and lower the resolution to 800x600 in order to get past the bar. Then again, I never modified my game up until a month or so ago, so I don't know what adverse effects mods would cause.

Mods that alter global variables MIGHT cause a problem but simple reskns and that shouldn't :). This is a HUGE one, it happens as Darth stated, and interesting what happens when you load from an auto save, cause sometimes Mira is in the space suit, sometimes her regular clothes. If in the space suit, she just bounces around, in her regular clothes, you get the door leads to an exclusive place and can't be open. Some global variable is messing up somewhere :).

Darth333
05-09-2007, 03:30 PM
If the issue is what I think (possibly something related to the use of the GetLoadFromSaveGame function) reinstalling the game won't have any effect and you have to reload an earlier save.

And save in different slots. I usually keep a rotation of at least 5-6 saves. In any event, you can check Holowan labs: ChAiNz uploaded about 130 saves from Kotor - you can then customize your appearance, name, etc with KSE.

You can always use my whereami armband to open the door (http://www.starwarsknights.com ) but it doesn't mean that it would solve the problem: you may be able to get passed the door to only get stuck later on. The best thing would be to look at the scripts that are fired in that area of the game.

LRP
05-09-2007, 04:01 PM
If the issue is what I think (possibly something related to the use of the GetLoadFromSaveGame function) reinstalling the game won't have any effect and you have to reload an earlier save.

And save in different slots. I usually keep a rotation of at least 5-6 saves. In any event, you can check Holowan labs: ChAiNz uploaded about 130 saves from Kotor - you can then customize your appearance, name, etc with KSE.

You can always use my whereami armband to open the door (http://www.starwarsknights.com ) but it doesn't mean that it would solve the problem: you may be able to get passed the door to only get stuck later on. The best thing would be to look at the scripts that are fired in that area of the game.

Darth thank you so much for your help. Very kind of you to take soo much time out to lend a hand and you're expertise. You are exactly right IMO. I'll go grab a save from this other site. You're really awesome ty.

Edit: Darth I dl'ed the mod and using the merger tool modified the spell 2da file. Then w/ KSE slipped it into my inventory. I got a rather lame question :). I can equip the armband fine, but it's not showiing up in the armband slot on the bottom that shows such stuff, ie melee shields and so on. Hence I can't seem to use it :). It's not a drag drop interface, how do I get it to show up there?

I've got it LOL don't know how to use it. I took a saved game saved before I left Dantoonie going to Nar Shadaa cause none of my Nar Shadaa saves worked out. I'm not to the glitchy part yet. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Is there any way to check the scripting functions? That's probably going to be my only shot at fixing it if this doesn't work I figure.

Mindtwistah
05-10-2007, 09:56 AM
I know this problem. I had it earlier. You can not open the door because you don't get a cutscene when you enter the jekk jekk tarr. I removed my override folder and it helped.

LRP
05-10-2007, 02:36 PM
I know this problem. I had it earlier. You can not open the door because you don't get a cutscene when you enter the jekk jekk tarr. I removed my override folder and it helped.

So there's supposed to be a cut scene where you enter the bar itself? I didn't know that. I got all the cut scenes where Atton comes running up to you, and where he has his fight and the one w/ Mira where she takes your space suit. So there's one after that when she enters the bar?

What do you mean you took your override folder out? All of it? You just moved it to a different place til afterwards? Wow what a simple solution that would be :).

I am almost at that point in a total play through of Nar Shadaar again. If I don't get that cut scene I'll do what you suggest. Thanks

Edit: Okay I am at my wits end with the game here. The whereamiband gets me through, but I'm stuck being Mira as if, it's when the pc turns up to finish out.

The cutscene where mira is taken, is not firing off and mira bounces off the door.

I can't seem to just dump the override, it crashes the game totally, I even tried a replay of the game, eliminating the mods one other player who had this problem and I, had in common with no sucess.

It is the cutscene that mira gets when she gets there that's not happening and I suppose it's not happening cause she bounces off the door instead. Use the band to open the door and everything inside is as if, Mira has aleady been taken and I am the pc.

I dont know what to alter, nor how to alter it script wise. I pretty good w/ the KSE and w/ the merger tool, if someone can tell me what to do and how to do it.

I could get one of those other saved games and use the KSE, problem I worry about is how to reconcile that saved game with mods I already have loaded in. ie I have the athena too mod in, cause I am playing a female pc :).


I hope someone can help me, otherwise I reckon it's uninstall time.

LRP
05-14-2007, 10:42 PM
Mindtwistah and I were both having the same problem. By doing some reinstalls and testing out of mods, both of us had in common it's the Suvam Tam mod that causes one to skip the cut scene with Mira where the Quarran watches a space suit character who is Mira, this cut scene is just before Mira goes to the Jekk Jekk.

For anyone having this problem I'd suggest waiting to install or reinstall that mod after one has gone through that main quest part.

ChAiNz.2da
05-15-2007, 01:08 PM
Thank You for posting how you fixed it :)

Not alot of people bother to come back and inform the community how to solve the problem (once theirs is fixed).

Very awesome of you.. you get a cookie (http://www.jumpstationz.com/gallery/emotes/cookie.jpg) (and our appreciation):D

swfan28
05-15-2007, 03:05 PM
I had the same problem. I found that it was caused by the file n_quarren002.utc of the Suvam Tam mod. It overrides Visquis as his utc-file has the same name. Simple solution would be to remove the file from K2 override and reload a saved game from before the Jekk'Jekk Tarr. Once Visquis is dead, the utc file can be put back into the override.