PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card Help--Please!!!


Tysyacha
05-29-2007, 10:47 PM
Dear Everyone,

My graphics card must be melting or something. It's messing up big time.
How on earth do I verify something called the "WHQL" signature so that
I can boot up Direct3D? WTF??? It's only the Direct3D that's all horky--
DirectDraw works fine. What's the deal, Radeon???

Det. Bart Lasiter
05-29-2007, 11:00 PM
"Radeon" is kind of vague. What model is it? What drivers are you using?

Tysyacha
05-29-2007, 11:25 PM
It's a Radeon 9800 PRO, and the driver I'm using is 8.351-070302a1-045035C-ATI.

At least that's what it says when I click the "Click here for support information" link
in the "Add and Remove Programs" section of my "ATI Display Driver" program.

Hope that helps...

Boba Rhett
05-30-2007, 01:26 AM
Give version 8.36 of the display drivers a shot? Linky (http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html)

Jae Onasi
05-30-2007, 09:07 AM
Moving to the Workbench....

Tysy, it might not be game related but the tech gurus here might get some useful info if you post your specs. Instructions are in this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146050).

Tysyacha
05-30-2007, 06:01 PM
I have uninstalled both KOTOR games (sorry!), so you still want specs? Here they are!
By the way--it's like my video card is not even installed, though that can't be the
case or my computer would be screaming bloody murder that the graphics were
all messed up. Does anybody know what might be going on here? Even a guess?

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/30/2007, 16:52:07
Machine name: AMYATHLON64
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTek Computer Inc.
System Model: K8N-E-Deluxe
BIOS: BIOS Date: 08/13/04 18:58:16 Ver: 08.00.09
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 257MB used, 989MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
DxDiag Previously: Crashed in Direct3D (stage 2)

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found. Direct3D functionality not available. You should verify that the driver is a final version from the hardware manufacturer.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: RADEON 9800 PRO
Manufacturer:
Chip type:
DAC type:
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4E48&SUBSYS_00021002&REV_00
Display Memory:
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: ViewSonic VE710b-2
Monitor Max Res:
Driver Name:
Driver Version: ()
DDI Version:
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: , 0 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD:
Mini VDD:
Mini VDD Date: , 0 bytes
Device Identifier:
Vendor ID:
Device ID:
SubSys ID:
Revision ID:
Revision ID:
Video Accel:
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Disabled
D3D Status: Not Available
AGP Status: Not Available
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

Darth333
05-30-2007, 06:15 PM
Driver Name:
Driver Version: ()
DDI Version:
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: , 0 bytes

try installing the proper drivers: http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html (just a FYI: I found this in the Catalyst 7.4 drivers release notes: Starwars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords: Setting the in-game display option to low settings may result in corruption being noticed within the game. Further details can be found in topic number 737-25173. )

Not that it will solve your problem but you might as well update directx at the same time: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=2da43d38-db71-4c1b-bc6a-9b6652cd92a3&displaylang=en

Tysyacha
05-30-2007, 07:56 PM
OK. Here's what I did. I went into Device Manager and clicked on
Display Adapters/Radeon 9800 PRO/Radeon 9800 Secondary and
disabled both of those devices. Then I uninstalled them. Then I
tried to run the file I downloaded from your link, but it said "ATI
cannot find drivers compatible with your system" or some jazz.

:(

Edit: I finally managed to install the 8.36 drivers correctly, BUT DirectX (which I also
downloaded and installed anew) is still acting like I never installed any drivers for my
video card. Just check my DxDiag. Everything's still a blank! When I go to Device
Manager and check my video card, it DOES have the 8.36 drivers listed and
reported as digitally signed. ???? *cries*

Astrotoy7
05-31-2007, 11:15 AM
Ahem !! hey can someone move this to the TECH area where we can set this poor chap aright :)

mtfbwya

ChAiNz.2da
05-31-2007, 12:19 PM
Ahem !! hey can someone move this to the TECH area where we can set this poor chap aright :)

mtfbwya

Agreed. I don't think this is a KotOR/TSL related problem any longer ;)

Astrotoy7
05-31-2007, 12:54 PM
8.36 ??

The most recent certified non beta Xp Home x86 drivers for the 9800 series is catalyst 7.4(april 2007)
LINKTRON (http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/xp/radeonx-xp.html)

Select>> Xp Pro/Home>>Radeon>> 9800 (scroll down!) >> GO!

nb.
*Read the installation instructions
*Uninstall the other ones first

Id suggest you just install the drivers, but if you feel you really really need the catalyst bloatcenter, then go for it :D

also remember, you can still get output by uninstalling all ATI and windows in built WDDMs will kick in. If youre still getting the DirectX no show issues in that - I would:
>>switch off pc..open your case, pull out graphics card, and put back in!(even if slightly misaligned things can play up...it happens -- especially if the pc has been moved recently or often)
if an option
>>try the card in another pc (if the card is buggered - this will be the acid test for it)

mtfbwya

Tysyacha
05-31-2007, 09:51 PM
I know why my computer was acting like my video card didn't have a driver!!! I was bypassing the Direct3D portion of DxDiag. Here's what DxDiag REALLY says now!

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/31/2007, 20:38:15
Machine name: AMYATHLON64
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTek Computer Inc.
System Model: K8N-E-Deluxe
BIOS: BIOS Date: 08/13/04 18:58:16 Ver: 08.00.09
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 352MB used, 893MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found. Direct3D functionality not available. You should verify that the driver is a final version from the hardware manufacturer.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: RADEON 9800 PRO
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x4E48)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4E48&SUBSYS_00021002&REV_00
Display Memory: n/a
Current Mode: 800 x 600 (16 bit) (56Hz)
Monitor: ViewSonic VE710b-2
Monitor Max Res: 1280,1024
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6698 (English)
DDI Version: unknown
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 5/17/2007 20:57:53, 268288 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 5/17/2007 20:57:34, 2164736 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-0D08-11CF-9869-0820A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x4E48
SubSys ID: 0x00021002
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel:
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Not Available
D3D Status: Not Available
AGP Status: Not Available
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

Astrotoy7
05-31-2007, 11:27 PM
lolz...as I was writing up that above post...ATI/AMD put up catalyst 7.5.

can you verify that youve
1.uninstalled old drivers
>>reboot
2.installed new ones
>>reboot
3.(re)Installed DirectX 9c April (from d333s linky above)
4. All your mainboard drivers and BIOS are up to date

If youve done all that and its still playing funny buggers... there are a couple of things that will give you an answer

1. Try the card in another computer(if an option)
2. Reformat and do it from scratch. If your DX9 installation is corrupt, theres only one way to get it fresh and nice. There are "Direct X uninstallers" out there, but using them is *perilous* to say the least
3. If your HDD is physically corrupted, then an OS wont install properly.

mtfbwya

Darth333
06-01-2007, 12:00 AM
lolz...as I was writing up that above post...ATI/AMD put up catalyst 7.5.

From her dxdiag report, it seems that she's done that already ;)

I believe that Tysy's last post means that it works now that the drivers are installed :)

Astrotoy7
06-01-2007, 02:30 AM
From her dxdiag report, it seems that she's done that already ;)

I believe that Tysy's last post means that it works now that the drivers are installed :)

lolz.... im doing a lot of forum based tech support atm....when posts get listed with specs and app logs I just go into auto :(

Im not sure how ATI drivers get abbreviated - I just saw "Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6698 (English)" (The last 5 digits of nvidia drivers give the version number)

Separate to that though - Iwas wondering about DX being corrupted, as Ive seen it do a few times, be it for a HD prob, or an OS prob....etc

Tsy, a simple 'woot! It works !!' at the start of a post will be much appreciated next time for and old sod like me !!! Thanks for all the follow up info though

*noted for future reference*

mtfbwya