PDA

View Full Version : Crash when loading first chapter


PoM
06-02-2007, 04:16 PM
So after planning to get this game for nearly two years, I finally got it pretty cheap.
You see, when I click "New game" and "The Beginning" loads, I simply get a crash to desktop when it's finished loading.
I surpass the minimum requirements by far, I have
2.6 Ghz Dual Core Processor
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640 MB
2 gigabytes of RAM
Windows Vista

I think this may be a Vista incompability, or maybe I'm just stupid.
I've updated my drivers and what not.

neal8929
06-26-2007, 03:13 PM
I also have an 8800 gts, and I have the same problem. And I updated my drivers in may.

ecurb
09-06-2007, 09:51 PM
I also have this problem!!

it works fine on my old 6600gt but when i upgraded to a 8600gts it dies.

I have a core2duo e6600 2.4ghz
1gb mem
8600gts video with upgraded drivers
windows xp sp2 full upgraded
the latest direct x
update patch 1.0 republic commando

and it won't work!!!!
CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP

ecurb
09-12-2007, 05:51 AM
Have Found how to fix !!!!! (well mine at least)

If you are using an 8000 series card from Nvidia try setting the bump mapping to low from the graphical options.

WORKED ON MINE :)

clonecowcommndo
09-14-2007, 08:58 AM
i got an error message.
Kept spamming play, it worked.

redblood18
05-27-2009, 01:21 PM
Do what ecurb said, but don't turn the bumpmapping back on high or else it crashes again.

JasterKinlew
06-16-2009, 12:38 PM
how do you access the Nvidia card?

Gamma097
07-30-2009, 07:12 PM
So after planning to get this game for nearly two years, I finally got it pretty cheap.
You see, when I click "New game" and "The Beginning" loads, I simply get a crash to desktop when it's finished loading.
I surpass the minimum requirements by far, I have
2.6 Ghz Dual Core Processor
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640 MB
2 gigabytes of RAM
Windows Vista

I think this may be a Vista incompability, or maybe I'm just stupid.
I've updated my drivers and what not.

I run Windows Vista: Home Premium and I can assure you that RC works just fine with Vista as the operating system. I don't know anything else.