PDA

View Full Version : Followers in K1


Mindtwistah
06-10-2007, 01:40 PM
How can you make "followers" or "puppets" in K1?

You probably think: "K1 does not support puppets."

Well what about the droid you buy in Janice droid hall in Taris that explodes after a few sec.

Darth InSidious
06-10-2007, 01:46 PM
That droid just uses a 'follow the leader' script, which, AFAIK, will not work once you transit out of that module...

Master Zionosis
06-10-2007, 02:49 PM
That droid just uses a 'follow the leader' script, which, AFAIK, will not work once you transit out of that module...

I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.

Gargoyle King
06-10-2007, 04:02 PM
I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.
Yes it does seem feasable, does anyhone know if this is possible or will the script only fire for 1 module at a time, if it is possible it could lead to puppet mods for K1! :D

Mindtwistah
06-10-2007, 04:08 PM
I can imagine. The second they release the script for puppets Taris Upper City Emporium will be filled with "Get your own puppet [K1]" and "Give Bastila the puppet she always wanted [K1]".

That would be fun to see.

stoffe
06-10-2007, 04:19 PM
I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.

You can fake it reasonably by spawning a new instance of the "puppet" creature in each area the player enters (if one does not already exist there, in which case you just jump the existing one the the player and make it follow).

Only party members (and puppets in TSL) can transition between modules, all other creatures are stuck in the area they were spawned. So it will only be able to follow you while you remain within the area it was created, which is why you'd need to create a new puppet in each new area the player enters.

Other than that you'd need a heartbeat script for the party member to check for the puppet and spawn/jump it as necessary, and a heartbeat script for the puppet creature itself to make it follow its assigned owner around.

If I remember correctly this has been brought up earlier, so if you search around you should be able to find the necessary scripts posted on this forum already if you don't want to create them yourself.

Mindtwistah
06-10-2007, 04:33 PM
Isn't it possible to just add a script to all the modules in K1 in the "OnEnter" entry and the script spawns the "puppet"? Sure, it would be a lot of work, to add the script in every single module, but it's worth it.

Darth InSidious
06-10-2007, 06:28 PM
^The compatibility issues would be horrendous.

Gargoyle King
06-10-2007, 06:35 PM
^The compatibility issues would be horrendous.

It probably would, be good if you don't play much mods though (although i personally play K1 & TSL heavily modified).

Darth InSidious
06-10-2007, 06:58 PM
Yes, but then who is more likely to download the mod?

:)

Gargoyle King
06-10-2007, 07:45 PM
Yes, but then who is more likely to download the mod?:)

First-timer's maybe? I see your point, could TSL Patcher be used in anyway to make it compatible with other mods though?

Darth InSidious
06-11-2007, 10:59 AM
Up to a point, but it's not a miracle device ;)