PDA

View Full Version : About .git files


rictus135
06-14-2007, 01:02 AM
I have been tooling around for a while trying to make a recruit mod, at first i tried to insert the characters using a .git in the overide folder, which obviously didn't work properly, hten when i found out why i removed the .git file and put it in my kotor directory and switched to scripting. That didn't seem to work either as i seemed to be double spawning my characters, and i couldn't work out why.

Well it turns out that if you place a .git of a module in your KOTOR directory the game will utilize that .git as the new game resource. It won't have the same problems as using it in the override folder as it doesn't override the save file. It seems to work properly.

Now this may be old news to everyone, but when i was working on this 18 months ago, I was given the impression that using .git files basically wouldn't work. So I would just like to know, is this the way .git files are supposed to work? or have i accidentaly stumbled onto a way to edit modules without a lot of scripting?

Master Zionosis
06-14-2007, 05:40 AM
The reason why you are having problems is because you didn't repack the .git file into a .mod file using kotor tool, nor did you put the newly created .mod into the Modules folder. Unless you did, you didn't say >< lol

rictus135
06-14-2007, 05:43 AM
I think your missing the point, perhaps i wasn't clear enough.

The point is, the .git file works perfectly well. It works just like it had been repacked into a .mod, but it hadn't. It was just sitting in my KOTOR directory.

Master Zionosis
06-14-2007, 05:54 AM
I must be missing the point more than you think then, if the .mod is just in your KotOR directory then it ain't gonna work, it needs to be in the Modules folder.

rictus135
06-14-2007, 08:01 AM
Well thats what i thought, but it does work. Or it was working before i deleted it. And it was the .git file not the .mod.

tk102
06-14-2007, 12:16 PM
This is interesting, rictus135. I'm going to have to try that out.

swfan28
06-14-2007, 12:54 PM
I tried it with the unfinished Shuma the Hutt mod. Played through the escape from Taris with the git file in KotOR directory and it didn't work. Shuma didn't show up on Dantooine. You must have had either a script still in place or the module had already loaded with the git file in override.

rictus135
06-15-2007, 01:00 AM
I had considered this swfan28. But I started new games without it in the override many times before, and i know it wasn't the scripts because i had started new games without them either. even without the .dlg file that had been used to trigger the scripts i still happened. furthermore, finally when i had exhausted every other posibility, i decided that it must be the .git file. I used a gff editor to remove the characters i had placed and next time i entered the characters had been removed and a cutscene got screwed up, which always happens when you don't use the correct program to edit .git files.

Just so you know, i was using the tar_m03ab_s.rim module. I can't remember the exact name of the .git file. just m03ab.git or something. This is one of the lowercity apartments. the one where Calo Nord kills two rodians.