PDA

View Full Version : Vista, Boot Camp, and Phantom Starts


learsenic
06-22-2007, 04:13 PM
I realize there's a sticky for Vista questions, but I think my issue with installation goes beyond that somewhat, so thanks in advance to anyone who's kind enough to dive into this sticky mess. ^_^

I'm running Vista in Boot Camp off of an Intel iMac. Before we get into specs, I know for a fact that the game will run- as I got it to start up once past the launchpad. I played for a bit and everything seemed to go fine. The next time I tried to start it up past the launchpad, the program just shut down and has done so every time subsequently.

I uninstalled and reinstalled once, have made vain attempts to download drivers, and have patched completely. Thing is I know I don't need any more drivers since I got the damn thing to run once, so I think the problem is with the game. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

ChAiNz.2da
06-22-2007, 04:17 PM
I am assuming this is TSL since there is a mac version of KotOR correct? (I'm a mac user too ;) )...

Also, MacOSX just came out with an update yesterday, have you installed it or any other drivers recently after you had it run successfully the first time?

learsenic
06-22-2007, 05:50 PM
I am assuming this is TSL since there is a mac version of KotOR correct? (I'm a mac user too ;) )...

Also, MacOSX just came out with an update yesterday, have you installed it or any other drivers recently after you had it run successfully the first time?


Yep, it's TSL. (Mac <3!) And I haven't installed anything new in between, no- it was literally a matter of minutes.

ChAiNz.2da
06-23-2007, 03:12 AM
ahhh.. hmm, well you could try installing the OSX update, it fixes alot of things (USB port problems FINALLY! hehehe)..

I don't have Vista yet for me to test on Boot Camp so I'm not much help, but I'd almost bet a dime that's the underlying problem. Many Windows users are having problems running the game(s) just with Vista alone, much less adding in the "possible" (though unlikely) problems that Boot Camp might intrduce :giveup:

learsenic
06-23-2007, 04:12 PM
Just letting everyone know how I got this to work- just mute your speakers, start the game, then minimize and turn them back on. XD

ChAiNz.2da
06-24-2007, 05:05 AM
Just letting everyone know how I got this to work- just mute your speakers, start the game, then minimize and turn them back on. XD
LOL.. really? That's awesome you got it working like that.

But c'mon, are you telling me there wasn't a dead chicken and some vodoo involved in this? ;) C'mon, you can tell me, I'm a fellow mac'er :D

Oh! Welcome to the Forums! :waive1:

learsenic
06-24-2007, 01:34 PM
Well, I had to sacrifice my bunny, but he was getting kind of irritating anyway. ^_^ And thanks!