PDA

View Full Version : Duplicate or enact Force Sensitivity multiple times


spyblade
07-09-2007, 07:06 PM
I was wondering if it was possible to duplicate the force sensitivity line and add it to the bottom of the feat.2da. Can this be used to increase the character's force points? Can feats be granted with a script?

Also, I found this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=173407&highlight=feat+constant) about running a feat's impact script with a script. If this thread is correct, could this be used to permanently increase the force points by running the script for force sensitivity. If this is possible, could it be used multiple times. Could it be used even if the character already has the feat.

Lots of questions... Any help would be great. Thanx

If curious why I am asking this question, consult this thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=179015&page=1&pp=40) ,post #29. It is for starting a new character / game with a bunch of feats, powers, vitality points and hopefully force points...

Thanks
-mattz

stoffe
07-09-2007, 07:19 PM
I was wondering if it was possible to duplicate the force sensitivity line and add it to the bottom of the feat.2da. Can this be used to increase the character's force points? Can feats be granted with a script?


The workings of the majority of feats in the game is hardcoded. The game engine checks if the character has the feats represented by a line in feat.2da and if so takes some action or adjusts some stat or formula depending on what the feat is supposed to do. These feats are not scripted and you cannot change what they do. Since they are tied to a particular line number in feat.2da you cannot make multiple versions of a feat and have the copies work the same as the original either (since the line number would no longer be the same).

You can grant feats to characters via scripting with the GrantFeat() function in KOTOR2:TSL. In KOTOR 1 this is not possible since the necessary function does not exist in that version of the scripting language.

spyblade
07-09-2007, 07:51 PM
Thanks for the great help. I was afraid it was going to be line numbers and not the data in the columns.
So really the only known ways to adjust the characters' maximum force points in K1 is to add more to the numbers in the forcedie column in the classes.2da effecting all the characters' levels, or conversely lower the cost in the forcepoints column in the spells.2da (and probably tweak the forceadjust.2da to compensate)? If this is going to be for character creation in a new storyline mod, would this have any adverse effects that I haven't thought about? Would this even work?


Thanks
-mattz