PDA

View Full Version : DLG Problem


MarKomus
07-22-2007, 02:42 AM
Using the latest Kotor Tool, I searched for Janice Nall's dialog file (KotOR: Purchasing A Droid) to edit one line. I found it, opened it up in the internal editor (I can't seem to get DLGEditor to open from within Kotor Tool), made the one line change and saved it.

I installed the mod using the KMM and loaded up to the conversation with Janice. Now I'm getting conversation drops. That is, I make a response and the dialog ends.

I opened the modified file with DLGEditor and it said there were orphans (all of which terminated with "[End Dialog]." I had it remove them (we all know how orphans are, right?). Anyway...same effect.

Just for kicks and banshee screams I tried just saving the file as is and it seems KotOR just doesn't like it when I save dlg files. Oh, sure...OTHER people's dlg files work, but NOT MINE! :)

Anyone who can clue me in (successfully) gets a chocolate chip Famous Amos cookie.

PROBLEM SOLVED!!! tk102 gets the cookie! See Response Number 20.

tk102
07-22-2007, 03:13 AM
Have you tried merely extracting the dialog file with KotOR Tool and then editing the file with DLGEditor only? :)

I installed the mod using the KMM and loaded up to the conversation with Janice. :confused: Why is KMM involved? You could just put it in your Override directly.

Allronix
07-22-2007, 03:18 AM
Egad! That bug! I remember when I got nailed with it dozens of times writing my mod! (For the record, it is a P.I.T.A when you run into this and you're doing any kind of work on Carth's dialogue. At 800K, it's the largest in the game) Extracting it with KOTOR tool does work, but make sure you also run a "find orphans" check, test, and retest.

Also, Dialogue is my specialty. So, if you run into any landmines, let me know.

Mindtwistah
07-22-2007, 08:15 AM
This has always bugged me, but what is orphans?

I always get the message that there seems to be orphans in the dialog but I never mind.

tk102
07-22-2007, 11:30 AM
Orphans are branches in a dialog that aren't connected to the main dialog anymore and will therefore never be seen in the game. This can be caused by deleting a node or breaking its link with its parent. You can either ignore them, remove them, or reattach them. They don't hurt the dialog in and of themselves, but if they exist, they are usually a mistake.

@Allronix: What bug is that? Were you using KotOR Tool's Conversation Editor or DLGEditor?

Leviathan
07-22-2007, 12:09 PM
Off-topic : Even though the following workaround might not be that helpful for fixing the troubles you are currently encountering with the Star Wars™ : Knights of the Old Republic®'s Dialogue file referred precedently, may I propose you to take a look at this IGN® Neverwinter Vault© webpage (http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view=Other.Detail&id=153), since it is dealing with one utility – In the beginning supposed to be only employed alongside of Neverwinter Nights Titles – capable of viewing and editing *.DLG files the same way the programs you used til now did. However, you should ensure that you are possessing the latest release of the Java™ Runtime Environment before trying this tool out, else the involved application will be looked upon as a plain archive by specialized softwares like PowerArchiver, WinZip®, etc...

MarKomus
07-22-2007, 12:37 PM
Have you tried merely extracting the dialog file with KotOR Tool and then editing the file with DLGEditor only? :)

:confused: Why is KMM involved? You could just put it in your Override directly.

Only because it is part of a slightly larger mod I'm revising. Point taken, though. I don't need the other components to simply test it (Think outside the box, MarKomus).

Egad! That bug! I remember when I got nailed with it dozens of times writing my mod! (For the record, it is a P.I.T.A when you run into this and you're doing any kind of work on Carth's dialogue. At 800K, it's the largest in the game) Extracting it with KOTOR tool does work, but make sure you also run a "find orphans" check, test, and retest.

Also, Dialogue is my specialty. So, if you run into any landmines, let me know.

UGH! Looks like I'll have to dig deeper if I want this one to fly.

stoffe
07-22-2007, 12:54 PM
this NWVault webpage (http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view=Other.Detail&id=153), since it is dealing with one utility – In the beginning supposed to be only employed alongside of Neverwinter Nights Titles – capable of viewing and editing *.DLG files the same way the programs you used til now did.

I wouldn't recommend using DLG editors for NWN with the KOTOR games. While the DLG files of both games are GFF format files, the internal layout of data fields is much different, and depending on how the editor handles unknown fields it might ruin the file to save it with an editor that isn't made for the correct DLG format.

Allronix
07-22-2007, 02:57 PM
@Allronix: What bug is that? Were you using KotOR Tool's Conversation Editor or DLGEditor?


The first version of dlgEditor. Again, I was cooking up my dialogue pack and trying to weave my additions in with the "canon" dialogue, only to find that there were abrupt "dead ends" on trees I didn't even alter.

tk102
07-22-2007, 04:31 PM
You mean DLGEdit, the command line version? :) Well rest assured, DLGEditor has come a long since then. I'd be a fool to say it's completely bug-free, but I'm fairly certain it doesn't spontaneously create orphan nodes.

Allronix
07-22-2007, 04:42 PM
Yeppers. Boy, what a pain! Try adding 20+ pages of new dialogue options using it!

tk102
07-22-2007, 04:43 PM
Worse, try doing that with a GFF Editor! :xp:

Leviathan
07-22-2007, 05:15 PM
Off-topic :
I wouldn't recommend using DLG editors for NWN with the KOTOR games. While the DLG files of both games are GFF format files, the internal layout of data fields is much different, and depending on how the editor handles unknown fields it might ruin the file to save it with an editor that isn't made for the correct DLG format.
Actually, due to the fact I have mostly utilized Modding Utilities being first and last intended for Neverwinter Nights video games since the very first day I started out to develop Star Wars™ : Knights of the Old Republic®'s Modifications, I have increasingly tended to recommend other LucasForums© members unofficial programs available through the IGN® Neverwinter Vault©'s Portal, since I have always been somewhat disappointed by a few Star Wars™ : Knights of the Old Republic®'s. Hence the fact I keep designing projects based upon these two BioWare Corporation® / Obsidian Entertainment® Role-Playing Games, without running into that many difficulties...

MarKomus
07-22-2007, 06:38 PM
Have you tried merely extracting the dialog file with KotOR Tool and then editing the file with DLGEditor only? :)

:confused: Why is KMM involved? You could just put it in your Override directly.

To answer first question: Yes. I did try that, too. No dice. I'm guessing there is something wrong at the extraction/save level. What happened is, I extracted it, saved it, then opened it with DLGEditor (latest versions of everything). When I opened it, that is when it indicated that there were x number of orphans.

tk102
07-22-2007, 09:33 PM
This is tar02_janice021.dlg? I just extracted it using FindRefs v4.4 and opened it DLGEditor v2.3.0 and there were no orphans. You must be editing a modified file. :confused:

MarKomus
07-23-2007, 03:02 AM
This is tar02_janice021.dlg? I just extracted it using FindRefs v4.4 and opened it DLGEditor v2.3.0 and there were no orphans. You must be editing a modified file. :confused:

I just now tried that out. I was also able to successfully extract that file without orphans.

Now...is there a way to actually edit the line? I can't make any changes to the desired text. :(

The wonderful world of modding?

Also...I tried to edit it using KotOR Tool. NOTHING came up in the dialog box! I hit expand and got an error message.

Leviathan
07-23-2007, 05:49 AM
Well, I have simulated the sort of conditions you may have been in while attempting to open pulled out Dialogue Files using KotOR Tool's embedded « Conversation Editor », and the least I can at length say as regards to this tool's dependability is that it is not that evident. As a result, you should perhaps consider going on making use of another program handling *.DLG files, such as tk102's, rather than willing to get the resources you have taken out of Star Wars™ : Knights of the Old Republic®'s assets to act through KotOR Tool, else you might run into further bothers...

tk102
07-23-2007, 10:40 AM
To change the line, first change the StringRef to -1. This will clear the text box and make it editable. Before you do that, you might want highlight the text in the textbox and hit Ctrl+C to copy the text, then when you change StringRef to -1, you can hit Ctrl+V to paste the text back in (helpful if you only wanted to change a single word for example).

See also DLGEditor readme.txt

swfan28
07-23-2007, 04:40 PM
Originally Posted by MarKomus
Also...I tried to edit it using KotOR Tool. NOTHING came up in the dialog box! I hit expand and got an error message.
Same problem here and it seems to happen almost every time I try to open a dlg-file with Kotor Tool's editor unless I open one of the original files directly from Kotor Tool. I've never had any problems with tk102's DLGEditor though...

MarKomus
07-23-2007, 11:44 PM
To change the line, first change the StringRef to -1. This will clear the text box and make it editable. Before you do that, you might want highlight the text in the textbox and hit Ctrl+C to copy the text, then when you change StringRef to -1, you can hit Ctrl+V to paste the text back in (helpful if you only wanted to change a single word for example).

See also DLGEditor readme.txt

Problem solved! tk102 gets the cookie! I used FindRefs to get and save the file. Then I used DLGEditor to edit. By changing the StringRef to -1 I was able to change the text. The mod is done. Nothing fancy: Just fixes a dialog inconsistency.

tk102
07-24-2007, 12:23 AM
Problem solved! tk102 gets the nookie!

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/4021/ra1xm3.jpg
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/8215/ra2nz2.jpg
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/1338/rick3vo9.jpg
Thanks MarKomus. A cookie would've been fine though.

MarKomus
07-25-2007, 02:32 AM
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/4021/ra1xm3.jpg
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/8215/ra2nz2.jpg
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/1338/rick3vo9.jpg
Thanks MarKomus. A cookie would've been fine though.

Ah...admit it: You like it. :)