PDA

View Full Version : Confused About Naming Files. [TSL]


TrayusCore
07-26-2007, 03:16 PM
After successfully changing the default clothing for KotORI I've been trying to do the same for TSL by doing pretty much the same thing but nothing's changed.

Basically, for KotORI I extracted n_jedimemf.mdl, n_jedimemf.mdx and N_JediMemF01.tga to the override and renamed them PFBBS.mdl, PFBBS.mdx and PFBBS01.tga respectively just to test if it worked for scoundrels. This worked so I did it for all classes and for both genders (used n_jedimemm.mdl, n_jedimemm.mdx and N_JediMemM01.tga) successfully.

From what I could tell, TSL uses the same naming "system" so using KSE I extracted the texture and models from the KotORII section of KotOR tool and did exactly the same as the above but none of the clothes have changed.

At that point I guessed the naming system wasn't the same but looking at some tutorials it is... that or I just misunderstood something. xD

Does anyone have any ideas?

stoffe
07-26-2007, 04:53 PM
Basically, for KotORI I extracted n_jedimemf.mdl, n_jedimemf.mdx and N_JediMemF01.tga to the override and renamed them PFBBS.mdl, PFBBS.mdx and PFBBS01.tga respectively just to test if it worked for scoundrels.

TSL does not have different body sizes, unlike KOTOR. All characters use the Medium body models. Thus you'd only have the PFB*M and PMB*M models and textures.

However, TSL does not use specific player models (PFBBM/PMBBM.mdl) for clothing, unlike KOTOR. It has the standard commoner tunic, N_CommM.mdl and N_CommF.mdl, assigned to that body variation for all player appearances instead. Be warned that if you replace this you will also replace the clothing of a good number of the humanoid NPCs in the game.

Thus, if you want to change the player's clothing but not everyone elses you'll need to edit the appearance.2da file and modify the name of the model file in the modelb column and texture in texb column for all the player appearance lines. The text in the label field of the player appearance lines start with P_FEM_ for female appearances and P_MAL_ for male appearances so they are fairly easy to spot.

(Keep in mind that you can't use models from KOTOR 1 in TSL, the models you use must come from the same game, so you'll need to extract them from the game data with KotorTool or a similar utility.)

TrayusCore
07-26-2007, 05:01 PM
Thanks stoffe, I'll try that now.

EDIT: Still no luck, the clothes still appear as they did. There's a screenshot of my override below to make sure I haven't done something wrong.

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/3694/overridess2ii2.jpg

tk102
07-26-2007, 06:12 PM
Don't see the appearance.2da in there...:confused:

and uh.. TSL does not use specific player models (PFBBM/PMBBM.mdl) for clothing:xp:

TrayusCore
07-26-2007, 06:17 PM
Don't see the appearance.2da in there...:confused:

When I did it originally for KotORI I managed to avoid doing anything with the appearance.2da and it worked so I guessed I could manage it with KotORII. Not 100% sure if I can do it with TSL too though.

I did it by (I'll do it for female scouts for this example) extracting and renaming n_jedimemf.mdl to PFBBM.mdl, n_jedimemf.mdx to PFBBM.mdx and N_JediMemF.tga to PFBBM01.tga. (Thanks to Dragoon ZER0 for telling me how to do it without messing with Appearance.2da)

stoffe
07-26-2007, 06:29 PM
When I did it originally for KotORI I managed to avoid doing anything with the appearance.2da and it worked so I guessed I could manage it with KotORII. Not 100% sure if I can do it with TSL too though.


*cough* (http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=2350812&postcount=2)?

TrayusCore
07-26-2007, 06:34 PM
*cough* (http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=2350812&postcount=2)?

There's my mistake. xD

I'd read the first sentence and rushed off to try it. Sorry about that.

EDIT: Is it possible to use a different texture per class or is it only possible to use one texture for all three? If so, because there's no small/medium/large sizes how do you go about specifying which texture per class?

EDIT2: Hmm, I changed all the N_CommF and N_CommM in the modelb column to n_jedimemf and n_jedimemm respectively and in the texb I've changed the N_CommF and N_CommM to n_jedimemf02 (prefered the second texture to the first) and N_JediMemM01 and still no change.

Also, does it matter that the model and texture are named the same thing in each game?

Thanks in advance.

Dragoon ZER0
07-26-2007, 08:32 PM
I'll take some of the blame for the confusion as I only helped you with K1 in your other topic.

If your appearance.2da looks like THIS (http://www.frontiernet.net/~gt_dragoon/Image2.png), your character selection screen should look like THIS (http://www.frontiernet.net/~gt_dragoon/K2_00012.png).

Which texture is used seems to depend on the class in this case. I didn't try it, but, if you want all of them to use the second texture, you should be able to take two copies of N_JediMemF02.tga and rename them to N_JediMemF01.tga and N_JediMemF03.tga and drop them in the override.

This is assuming that no other characters use these textures in the game. If they do you can give the textures unique names and specify these in texb in appearance.2da.

[EDIT: It does work. (http://www.frontiernet.net/~gt_dragoon/K2_00013.png)]

TrayusCore
07-26-2007, 08:41 PM
It's no prob about the confusion bit, I got distracted reading stoffe's post and skipped ahead. :P

I think I may have gone wrong because I added a 02 after N_JediMemF and 01 after N_JediMemM in the texb column. I'll have a go now and see if I can get it working.

EDIT: Still doesn't work and just incase I'm missing something obvious, here's a screenshot of my appearance.2da (http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/2769/2dassmg4.jpg).