PDA

View Full Version : OJP Enhanced Create a server PROBLEM


The Unbeholden
07-29-2007, 12:52 PM
When i create a server for some reason it has the force mastery thing instead of the skill point selection. The skill point selection is only there when you create a Solo game :blast5:

Fix this cause i like to create a server rather than playing a Solo one... so its stupid that you cant choose how much skill points you start of with or maximum you can get. when you create a server it remembers the skill points you set from the solo game... so i have to first set the skill points min and max on the solo game to then have it when i create a server.

So i can get passed this bug but it would be nice if you put the same skill point thing for creating servers

Anyway thanks for letting me have my say... im new here, just joined a few minutes ago. Love this mod, but it still is quite broken and buggy but i reckon some of the ideas in it are just AWESOME. Congrats to all who works on this.

but please fix this little thing. here have some gold :king1: :king1:

want soem more?? here :king1: :king1: :king1: :)

The Unbeholden
07-29-2007, 01:07 PM
Also i noticed another wierd bug... i think someone made a big mistake... for some reason when i Create a server on Team FFA there is no kill limit to set.. only a time limit. It remembers the kill limit of the FFA settings.. So its stupid that i have to go to FFA settings to put a kill limit there in order to have it set for Team FFA... i'm not sure if you guys did this intentionally because it seems that way.. anyways id like a response for the reasoning behind this.

sorry for being so bothersome with these small things.. but it just really steams me when these little problems get in the way.

good luck to the OJP team.. keep up the good work

ensiform
07-29-2007, 01:22 PM
Well, most people use a rotation script instead of running from create a server or even just start from console manually so I dunno if that is that big of a problem.

Yango
07-29-2007, 02:36 PM
Ye, try to use ojp_min/maxexplevel or sth like this, it's the way to go. I believe I've seen some sample server cfg file there so you could modify and use it.

The Unbeholden
07-29-2007, 02:54 PM
A rotation script?? little bit more info on how to do this would be nice... also as ive got your attention i want to throw some things your way and see what you think..

Ok.. ive been playing the mod for some days straight and haveing alot of problems on parrying attacks.. Its quite tough to do this. As theres little indication to whether i successfully parry an attack or not.. and i tend to move in directions all the time like a crazy monkey just to do so.. So i think it would be a good idea to implement a block button. So when you hold the block button and press and hold a direction you aim your saber in that direction. So in this ways i can see if ive parried an attack or not.

Also im having troubles constantly having to remeber how many Dogde points i have... I think that it would be smart to make it so you have 100 dodge points. And when you get an ability like Saber Defend, instead of it increasing your dodge points. It will decrease the amount of dodge points you use instead... in this way people won't go confused on how much dodge points they have....

anyways thats just some problems Ive encountered... even though they are quite trivial Id like your take on any of them to see if they are worth covering for the official release of this mod (which i think should be implemented when the mod comes out) as this things tend to make the game less cumbersome and easier to the newer players.

anyways Thank you so much for taking the time to listening to my suggestions... but i think theyve been said before. Good luck to the whole OJP team

[Alpha]-0mega-
07-29-2007, 04:35 PM
About the block button, they removed it and they thought this was easier (If I remember correctly), so you're asking them to move back in time (sort of :P). lol.

About the map cycling (Note that terminology might not be 100% correct and is purely for rotation explanation purposes)

Also note that if you just want to know what to type, scroll to the bottom.

Taken from the OJPENHANCEDSERVER.cfg that comes with the 0.1.0 install (this is located at the bottom of the cfg, above the commented map list)

A .cfg file is a config file that basically holds the settings for whatever.

//------------------------------Maps---------------------------------------
set g_autoMapCycle "0" //set to "1" to start auto map cycle; leave at "0" to use custom cycle

//Custom map cycle loads all maps and 5 different gametypes; adjust as needed

// FFA
set d1 "vstr ffaOn; map mp/ffa1; set nextmap vstr d2"
set d2 "vstr ffaOn; map mp/ffa2; set nextmap vstr d3"


//Jedi Master
set d3 "vstr jmOn; map mp/ffa3; set nextmap vstr d4"
set d4 "vstr jmOn; map mp/ffa4; set nextmap vstr d5"

//Holcron FFA
set d5 "vstr holoOn; map mp/ffa5; set nextmap vstr d6"


//CTF
set d6 "vstr ctfOn; map mp/ctf1; set nextmap vstr d7"
set d7 "vstr ctfOn; map mp/ctf2; set nextmap vstr d8"
set d8 "vstr ctfOn; map mp/ctf3; set nextmap vstr d9"


//CTY
set d9 "vstr ctyOn; map mp/ctf4; set nextmap vstr d10"
set d10 "vstr ctyOn; map mp/ctf5; set nextmap vstr d11"

// start the first map
vstr d1

the "set" command kinda means "assign"
so set d6 "blablabla"
means: "assign bla bla bla to d6.

you can see vstr as "run", or, "execute everything assigned to this".

Now this is what happens:
(// are comments and are not executed)

// start the first map
vstr d1

what is d1?

set d1 "vstr ffaOn; map mp/ffa1; set nextmap vstr d2"

here d1 got assigned "vstr ffaOn", "map mp/ffa1" and "set nextmap vstr d2"

Execute everything assigned with ffaOn?

ffaOn is located in an other part of the .cfg, and basically has some basic FFA settings (including the gametype).

set ffaOn "g_privateDuel "1"; fraglimit "50"; timelimit "30"; set g_gametype 0; set bot_minplayers 8"

I think these are quite self explanatory. (Bot_Minplayers 8 means there must be 8 players in the server, if not, it will add bots until the 8 player limit is reached)

Next: "map mp/ffa1"
the MAP indicates that that map will be loaded. (in this case, mp/ffa1)

Next: "set nextmap vstr d2"
means that when "nextmap" command will be run (at the end of a match), it will execute the d2 command.

What is d2?

set d2 "vstr ffaOn; map mp/ffa2; set nextmap vstr d3"

Here, again, we have basic FFA settings being set, a "MAP LOAD" command to load ffa2, and a new ''on end of round execute this command'' command.

It goes on like this.

To create a map rotation, would basically look like this
Note that automapCycle (If I remember correctly), when set to 1, will go through your full map list (any maps you might have).
Also note that I'll assume that you want to use one set of settings all the time.

set g_autoMapCycle "0"
set map1 "map mp/ffa1;set nextmap vstr map2"
set map2 "map mp/ffa2;set nextmap vstr map3"
set map3 "map mp/ffa3;set nextmap vstr map1"
vstr map1

Quick summary of what happens:
vstr map1 -> load map mp/ffa1 -> when nextmap occurs (end of match) vstr map2.
vstr map2 -> load map mp/ffa2 -> when nextmap occurs vstr map3.
vstr map3 -> load map mp/ffa3 -> on nextmap, go back to vstr map1.

Here's the default .cfg that comes with ojp enhanced 0.1.0 (Slight insignificant modifications might be found)
http://rapidshare.com/files/45810331/OJPServer.cfg.html

The Unbeholden
07-29-2007, 05:21 PM
Thanks alot Alpha Omega.... now i can start a server with out problems :)

Ive heard talk about Light saber styles having alot more emphasis on combat, light saber defend will be removed and instead there are 3 levels in light saber forms and that Niman and Ataru light saber forms are going to be added also.. is this true? if so what version will it be planned for release?

thanks all so much for your responses... i'm sure you guys are busy with your work so i'll leave you alone after this question

Good luck to the whole OJP team .. i hope to see a official release soon... NO RUSH

Maxstate
07-29-2007, 05:56 PM
A rotation script?? little bit more info on how to do this would be nice... also as ive got your attention i want to throw some things your way and see what you think..

Ok.. ive been playing the mod for some days straight and haveing alot of problems on parrying attacks.. Its quite tough to do this. As theres little indication to whether i successfully parry an attack or not.. and i tend to move in directions all the time like a crazy monkey just to do so.. So i think it would be a good idea to implement a block button. So when you hold the block button and press and hold a direction you aim your saber in that direction. So in this ways i can see if ive parried an attack or not.

Also im having troubles constantly having to remeber how many Dogde points i have... I think that it would be smart to make it so you have 100 dodge points. And when you get an ability like Saber Defend, instead of it increasing your dodge points. It will decrease the amount of dodge points you use instead... in this way people won't go confused on how much dodge points they have....

anyways thats just some problems Ive encountered... even though they are quite trivial Id like your take on any of them to see if they are worth covering for the official release of this mod (which i think should be implemented when the mod comes out) as this things tend to make the game less cumbersome and easier to the newer players.

anyways Thank you so much for taking the time to listening to my suggestions... but i think theyve been said before. Good luck to the whole OJP team

I like the dodge points idea, it seems more 'concrete'.

razorace
07-30-2007, 01:03 PM
The Unbeholden, go ahead and make 2 bug tickets for 2 issues you mentioned at the top of the thread. It sounds like the menu items were just missed during testing.

Yango
07-30-2007, 02:03 PM
Uh, and I'd really like to have a indicator that says you parried/you blocked. Some kind of a little LED on the HUD ;p so I can debug my playing ... ye. It flashes when you parry, it doesnt when you block. Simple for newbies too - make this little thingy flash.
As for dp points I like it the way it is.

[Alpha]-0mega-
07-31-2007, 06:22 AM
Why do you even want to remember how many dodge points you have? To see whether you're when compared to your current max, on low dodge points or not?

Unless your own tactic is something like "Run away until my DP is at X% of my max dp" then I don't really see any use in remembering the max DP you can have (Except for maybe that 0,5 second gain when you see you've reached your max and don't have to wait for the thing to ''not increase'' anymore to realize that you just reached the max.)

It might make things more "concrete" as maxstate stated above, but I don't see any significant changes in this.

An alternative solution could be (for those that have trouble remembering for w/e reason) adding a horizontal line at your ''current'' max.
So that when the DP bar reaches that line, you know you're at your max.

Maxstate
07-31-2007, 07:01 AM
When dealing with 100% it's easier to calculate how you should change your tactics. I've made the suggestion of changing the effects seen for a parry/block and am going to try doing this later today using animevents myself, tonight's test will tell us whether it's a good idea.

Tanqexe
07-31-2007, 01:13 PM
Yango, you can't tell by the single-handed parry animation that you parried?

Maxstate
07-31-2007, 01:14 PM
Sometimes you're too busy fighting a really good opponent and looking at his body language instead of yours :)

Tanqexe
07-31-2007, 01:25 PM
If you're too busy looking at his body language, then you'll be less prone to see any other indicator, either :)

Maxstate
07-31-2007, 01:28 PM
My idea is to change the sparks/smoke/flash for parries and blocks, I'm currently working on getting sparks to appear from sabers (easiest to test) if you block, and parrying will have no sparks.

Tanqexe
07-31-2007, 01:33 PM
So I'm thinking...blocks can be interpreted as mini-locks because it's two sabers clashing head on with a lot of force, so in addition to sparks, make the flash a lot brighter than normal and have more of a "crashing" audio file for saber blocks?

Maxstate
07-31-2007, 01:35 PM
If I can get this to work :D So far so good.

The Unbeholden
08-03-2007, 08:50 AM
How do I do a bug ticket??

razorace
08-03-2007, 01:06 PM
Read the sticky thread on "How do I report bugs"