PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with KotOR models and textures.


Breger
08-01-2007, 03:16 PM
Hello.
I'm in need of some assistance.
For a while, I've been thinking of making a movie, with small clips taken by me in-game in KotOR 1, but scrapped that idea, when I could find no way of removing the HUD entirelly.
Therefore, I've decided to try making a movie in 3dsMax 8, with help from existing models in KotOR. It was supposed to be a music-video, which means I would have to try and make animations, with existing bones in the models, or make new bones.
Now, I got a question:
Is it possible to extract the mdl:s and mdx:s, keeping the pathways for the textures, and then extracting the textures, adding them to the model in 3dsMax?
I know how to extract/export the mdl:s and mdx:s with the help of the Kotor Tool, but that's about it. I'm not even sure if I've done it right.
Anyone who can answer my questions out there?

Quanon
08-02-2007, 09:12 AM
You can also extract the texure of each level/area with KotorTool .

And when you import the area-models in 3D max you can get the names of the texures used in that area by :

1) Go to the material-palette ( shortkey : m) and click on the eye-dropper icon . Click on the part of the area model you want . It should say the exact name of the orginal .tga file it uses .

2) Just click on a part of the area , in the auraro-mash modifier options you'll see the texturename at the top then followed by the "parent : bla bla name "

Like this you can find most textures used , you'll just need to apply them yourself to the area-model parts .

Hope this helps a bit .

And good luck on the animation part :)

Breger
08-02-2007, 03:10 PM
Yes, it did. A bit at least. :P
But I'm relatively new to this with modding, if you can call it that, and I'm certainly new to 3dsMax.
The first step I understood, and the second as well, after some time using my brain.
But the second way to find the textures did not work, because where the texturename would be, it is empty.
How do I apply the textures myself? I don't know how to do that, I'm afraid. :P
Your help is most appreciated.