PDA

View Full Version : Game "freezes"


TheMonty
08-05-2007, 12:34 AM
Since I was having problems with KotOR2 on my desktop, I decided to try it on my laptop. The game starts fine, and I have no trouble creating a character, but once I actually start playing, I get serious movement issues. I can access the menus and everything, and I can look around, but my character refuses to move (the image freezes in place with one leg bent in a running position). I don't have internet access on my laptop right now, but I'll post the data once I get a chance.

What I know off the top of my head:
~5GB free hard drive space
1.6 GHz AMD processor
1GB RAM
ATI Radeon something video card (I think 256MB video memory, but I'm not sure)

Jae Onasi
08-05-2007, 01:19 AM
Check out this thread first (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146050). It'll give you some tips on how to post your specs here so the tech gurus can help you. There's lots of things it could be, and without enough information it's extremely difficult to diagnose the problem. :)

Check out the Laptop thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=160403) to see if some of the tips in there will help you also. The troublemaker tends to be the video (though not always, and if you turn down/off all the video options that may help. I turned all the video options down/off and got the game going reliably, and then slowly added things back in from there.

Hope that helps a bit. :)

TheMonty
08-05-2007, 04:19 PM
Now I've got internet on my laptop again, here are the specs:

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=7/25/2007 4:43:22 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.424
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=1344
C:\pagefile.sys=1344

[CPU]
CPUCount=2
CPUSpeed=1595
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=8
CPUStepping=2
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-50 1595MHz
Status=Warning

[Memory]
RAM=896
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (FAT32), UNICODE=3.34GB
D: (FAT32), UNICODE=14.11GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=E:\,F:\,G:\,H:\
Drives=MAT****A DVD-RAM UJ-850S,PHILIPS DVD-RAM SDVD8821

[Video]
Video Card Name=ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series
Video Memory=512
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.0.5817 WinXP Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=RADEON XPRESS 200M Series x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE2
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=USB Audio Device
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Disable Sound=0

[Graphics Options]
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0
AllowSoftShadows=1

[Game Options]

[config]
firstrun=0

TheMonty
08-12-2007, 08:08 PM
Ok, it's been a week now, and I haven't got a response. Does anybody know how to fix this stupid problem?