PDA

View Full Version : How to make a portrait for kotor 2 ?


Malak_Jedi
08-08-2007, 07:03 AM
I have a problem I wanted to play as Malak so I downloaded a robe pack so far so good, than i changed something with the savegame editor but i dont knoiw hiw to make an icon or portrait for malak.

see the picture if helps.

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/7558/untitleddj0.th.jpg (http://img515.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitleddj0.jpg) Anyone who knows please send me a message.

jonathan7
08-08-2007, 08:57 AM
Hey making a portrait is a funny old buisness which I still havent fully understood, they need to be in .tga format and in ONLY 24 bit colour and 128 X 128 pixels (if I recall correctly). Photoshop is probably the best way to produce them. Save it as the name of the already exsistant players portrait and stick it in the override folder. That should work however something with the Alpha Channels can also cause a portrait not to show up although I haven't figured that out yet. Hope that helps

Ferc Kast
08-08-2007, 11:32 AM
Save it as the name of the already exsistant players portrait and stick it in the override folder.

Or you could do some good old .2da editing of portraits.2da to create a unique portrait for any given character.

Here would be what the row would look like if you would want to edit portraits.2da:
baseresref=po_<insert name here>
sex=0
appearancenumber=32
race=6
inanimatetype=****
plot=0
lowgore=****
appearance_s=32
appearance_l=32
forpc=0
baseresrefe=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefve=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefvve=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefvvve=po_<insert name here>

As was mentioned, the dimensions of a portrait in TSL is 128*128

jonathan7
08-08-2007, 11:42 AM
Or you could do some good old .2da editing of portraits.2da to create a unique portrait for any given character.

Here would be what the row would look like if you would want to edit portraits.2da:
baseresref=po_<insert name here>
sex=0
appearancenumber=32
race=6
inanimatetype=****
plot=0
lowgore=****
appearance_s=32
appearance_l=32
forpc=0
baseresrefe=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefve=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefvve=po_<insert name here>
baseresrefvvve=po_<insert name here>

As was mentioned, the dimensions of a portrait in TSL is 128*128

Hehe, well I'm sure editing the .2da's is probably the best way I have about as much scripting ability as President Bush has intelligence ;) Wish I could script as would love to mod Peragus to make it more interesting, but unfortunatly I really don't get it and don't think I ever will :( Ah well, as is life; hope what we have said is of some help Malak_Jedi

Malak_Jedi
08-08-2007, 05:44 PM
Darth Balatro you have experience with creating portraits, I dont want to anger you but I dont no anything about .2da editing.

So if you would be so calm or good to explin it to me in slowly steps.

In meantime i have managed to make an icon it isnt a good but it doesnt matter , with the help of another forum fend who also isnt experinced i made it.


see the picture.

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/2483/55646546ds3.th.jpg (http://img254.imageshack.us/my.php?image=55646546ds3.jpg)


Please explin to me the creating of portraits.

jonathan7
08-08-2007, 08:01 PM
Heya Dude, I've made you a fairly decent portrait of Malak, he has his jawpiece though is that an issue? Anyways if you want it PM your email address and I can email it to you to have a look and see what you think, if you do decide to use it, all you need to do is rename it to your pc heads portrait and stick it in your override. :-)

Dragoon ZER0
08-08-2007, 11:53 PM
Please explin to me the creating of portraits.

I just position the character I want the shot of against a decent backdrop and have another character view him/her/it in first person view, take a screenshot, and cut out what I want. If you use the game's built in screenshot feature, it's already a .tga.

http://www.frontiernet.net/~gt_dragoon/po_malak.png (http://www.frontiernet.net/~gt_dragoon/po_malak.tga)

I'm not very good at editing images so it's probably not the best thing you've ever seen, but you can have it if you want it.

Adelphus
08-09-2007, 12:27 AM
http://rapidshare.com/files/47842491/Final.rar.html

I created this for the Kotor 1 Malak PC a little while back, just rename it and you should be fine. Hope it helps :)