PDA

View Full Version : 0xC0000005 error


Waxter
11-18-2007, 07:17 AM
Hi all.
I'm sorry if this error has been discussed before, but I couldn't find anything that solved my problem. I'm getting the 0xC0000005 error and crash on the upper level of the asylum. It seems to be a timed thing. From the time I start the level, or load it, it crashes after about 2 mins of play time.
I downloaded the game from Steam, which means I can't install the patch. Although I imagine Steam does that for me automatically.
I'd appreciate some help.
Thanks.

boycuoi
06-27-2008, 01:02 AM
I got the same ? Anyone help :(

(null), line 1 crash: 0xc0000005 If you have VS.NET installed, you can try to attach the debugger. Otherwise, click OK :confused:

martmeister
07-12-2008, 09:48 PM
Er, check the version and make sure it's up to date. Last patch is 1.04. Raise hell with Steam if it's not.
Reload game from a different save and do the tedious brain finding again.
Update drivers, disable antivirus
Reboot system running memtest (http://www.memtest.org/#downiso)
Reinstall the game.

Thrik
07-16-2008, 10:16 AM
Yeah, check the version if you can — can't recall off hand where you can do that, though.

If being up to date doesn't fix it, do file a formal bug complaint if you can. It raises the chances of those distributing Psychonauts looking into having it fixed, even if it means contracting the work to be done (whether it's by Double Fine or another developer).