PDA

View Full Version : How to make things shiny in the game


akuma7802
11-23-2007, 04:27 PM
i am trying to make a couple of new sets of armour for the game but the color and texture are not that good. i want to put a shine on the armour or a glossy look that makes it look more like metallic look is there a tutorial to show me how i can do this i am working with adobe photoshop 7

Marius Fett
11-23-2007, 05:56 PM
I think it's something to do with the txi?

Or it could be the alpha channel?

Dragoon ZER0
11-24-2007, 12:27 AM
DarthDingDong's got it. Make a text file with the same name as your texture and put something like:
envmaptexture CM_SpecMap or envmaptexture CM_BareMetal
(there are numerous others, but these are the only two I've used)
in there and change the extension to .txi

Then you just need to paint over the parts you want to be shiny on your texture in the alpha channel.

There's also the 'envmap' column in appearance.2da, but I'm not entirely sure how that works. Everything is either 'DEFAULT' or '****' for TSL, but K1 uses 'CM_BareMetal' and possibly a few others.

Quanon
11-24-2007, 06:22 AM
there are numerous others, but these are the only two I've used
in there and change the extension to .txi


Wow , do you have a list of somesort or any idea where I can find these other "effects" for textures , I'm curious if there isn't one that makes your texture "emit" light .

Most of maps have these lights that have a nice Hue or look like their emitting light , but I never know what kind of thing that needs to go in their .txi .

akuma7802
11-24-2007, 03:28 PM
the armour still looks blend with no shine

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f240/Akuma7802/PMBH15.jpg

Gargoyle King
11-24-2007, 06:08 PM
the armour still looks blend with no shineDid you paint over the parts of your texture with the alpha channel as already stated after creating the described text file? If not then you'll have to do that for the shine to take effect. Also try just for test purposes to retexture that armor to black or a dark colour just to see the shine effect better.

Dragoon ZER0
11-24-2007, 06:27 PM
the armour still looks blend with no shine
This topic (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=137723) may help more than I can.

Wow , do you have a list of somesort or any idea where I can find these other "effects" for textures , I'm curious if there isn't one that makes your texture "emit" light .

Most of maps have these lights that have a nice Hue or look like their emitting light , but I never know what kind of thing that needs to go in their .txi .
I know that there used to be a list somewhere, but I can't seem to find it :(. I fear it may have been on a modding site that no longer exists, but I'm sure there has to be someone around that knows more.

This topic (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=159133) on CM_Bright was about the only other thing I could find. I'm a terrible artist in general, so I haven't spent much time with textures.

akuma7802
11-25-2007, 02:01 AM
i already have the alpha channel on it and tried but still not working i think i know what is wrong i am working with adobe photoshop 7 and it says that the targa will not load with the targa i just need to find a fix for the targa

Quanon
11-25-2007, 06:26 AM
i already have the alpha channel on it and tried but still not working i think i know what is wrong i am working with adobe photoshop 7 and it says that the targa will not load with the targa i just need to find a fix for the targa

Load a Targa ???

I just know you need to save as a Targa and you need to put on Save Alpha Channels and then another window pops-up asking what Bits you want .

Take 32bits .

Also you need to paint with Black , White and Grays in the Alpha channel .

White , should be the full "shinny" material , Black is no effect at all .

Gray is somewhere in between blend .

Just make sure you have a .txi with the envmaptexture CM_Baremetal in it + it needs the same name as your texture .


EDIT : ow , uh ... maybe black is the full effect of the shader and white is no effect at all ... I always forget wich is wich :lol:
:p things should work like that .

akuma7802
11-25-2007, 09:54 PM
I do not know what i am doing wrong. i put the alpha channel on there and like what was said and still no real shine to it. made i need to do it all over again.