PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR2 Crash! - Can't start


leufkens
11-27-2007, 07:05 PM
Hey all

I picked up a copy of The Sith Lords in Aachen yesterday (so naturally it's the German version), and it will not run on my laptop, even though this little thing has more than enough power.

It's a 2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with 1GB Ram, Intel GMA 950.

Basically the game loads up and lets me create my character, but when I try to play, it only gets to the start of the first level (crashes as soon as gameplay comes on screen).

I assume there is one little thing in the config file that needs to be added to prevent this, or perhaps a graphic setting with the Intel GMA. I tried adding the Disable Vertex Shaders=1 line but that didn't fix it.

Any ideas? I really want to play this game again!

Thanks!

Jae Onasi
11-27-2007, 08:25 PM
Pending help from someone who has more computer cluefulness than me....

Try this thread (clicky) (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=148276) on Intel graphics cards.

See also the "Read this" thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146050). If you could post your specs, that would be very helpful to the volunteer computer gurus here.

The Laptop issues thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=160403) might also help you.

Welcome to the forums and hope things work out for you with the game. :)

MJ-W4
11-27-2007, 08:45 PM
I picked up a copy of The Sith Lords in Aachen yesterday (so naturally it's the German version), and it will not run on my laptop, even though this little thing has more than enough power.Have you installed the patches?
On LucasArts.com, they say that you need to install patch 1.0a before 1.0b if you are running an international version. Here's the link for 1.0a and 1.0b:

http://www.lucasarts.com/support/update/kotor2int.html

leufkens
11-28-2007, 04:23 AM
Thanks for responding.

I followed the instructions on that Intel page but to no avail. The buttons are slightly different but I managed to find where to change the actual setting anyway. I changed the Open GL setting to 'Blip', but the game still crashes when I try to start. I have played around with settings in both the Intel Graphics control panel and also the config file for the game itself.

In terms of the update, when I installed the game I just opened the SWUpdate file and it updated the game for me. I assume it did this correctly (at least hope).

Still trying to work this one out...

L

Edit: Another thing. Could someone perhaps send me a save game file? Perhaps I just have a problem with starting a game from scratch. Would be interesting to see if it would pick up on a save.

MJ-W4
11-28-2007, 10:04 AM
In terms of the update, when I installed the game I just opened the SWUpdate file and it updated the game for me. I assume it did this correctly (at least hope).With the autoupdate, you may have missed 1.0a that you need to use 1.0b.

leufkens
11-28-2007, 02:00 PM
I tried to reinstall the game and run the updates individually. No luck yet!

L

Jae Onasi
11-29-2007, 12:53 AM
Post your system specs per the directions in the 'read this first' thread--that has a lot of information that is needed to diagnose the problem further.

leufkens
11-29-2007, 10:44 AM
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=11/29/2007 3:09:38 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=Service Pack 2
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=1488

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2161
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=6
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7400 @ 2.16GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=992
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=3.75GB
F: (HFSJ), UNICODE=12.34GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N

[Video]
Video Card Name=Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Video Memory=256
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.4.0 - Build 7.14.10.4864
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel 945GM
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative AudioPCI (ES1371,ES1373) (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
Force Software=0
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=0
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=0
Texture Quality=0
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0

[Game Options]
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=0
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=0
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
UnlockedPlanetSongs=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action268=52
Action265=58
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=60
Action213=62
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=1
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=0
Movie 9=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 5=0
Movie 4=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 2=0
Movie 1=0
Movie 0=4

[config]
firstrun=0

Jae Onasi
11-29-2007, 11:51 PM
Well, pending the arrival of actual experts on this, I'll suggest this--turn down or off all your graphics settings as low as they'll go, especially grass/soft shadows/shadows/anisotropy, and see if that helps. If it works, add things back one by one to see how that goes. Turn sound options to the lowest settings as well, though I think it's more likely to be your video card than sound giving you fits.

MJ-W4
11-30-2007, 07:51 PM
[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N

[Video]
Video Card Name=Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Video Memory=256
Desktop Resolution=1280x800x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.4.0 - Build 7.14.10.4864
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel 945GM
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=PassTwo things I noticed:
1) If you have burning software installed, you might have to uninstall it because of copy protection.
2) You seem to have a widescreen display - try to choose a resolution with 4:3 ratio like 1024x768.
However, I'm no notebook specialist, so maybe you should get second, third, fourth etc opinions on this. hth, MJ

leufkens
12-02-2007, 01:29 PM
I temporarily uninstalled Nero and fiddled around with my graphics settings but no luck yet. Still crashes.

I used 3dAnalytics and tried playing with various settings but nothing. Even wireframe mode failed (which I thought should work since no effects are being used).