PDA

View Full Version : [KOTOR] Bryar Pistol and Bryar Rifle


Inyri
11-28-2007, 04:25 AM
Have added the Bryar Pistol (as seen in Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight) and the originating Bryar Rifle to KotOR, which can be purchased from the weapons shop in the Upper City on Taris. Both guns have exactly the same stats... since they're almost exactly the same gun. :p

Click the image for a link.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a322/inyri/bscreen1.jpg (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/Bryar_Pistol_and_Bryar_Rifle;84698)

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 06:09 AM
any way you could have made it so they are buyable from somewhere else than taris?

Gargoyle King
11-28-2007, 08:14 AM
It's out then Inryi. Looks amazing, i'm in awe at how well they look in game; and being a very big JK fan it's just great to play Kyle's signature weapon in Kotor. Now all we need is a "Convert Carth To Kyle Mod" & "Convert Bastila Into Jan Ors Mod" and my life shall be complete! :D

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 10:57 AM
ok... so i restarted my game... went to kebla... and no bryar weapons whatsoever...

opened keblastore.utm in the gff editor... no mention of the bryar weapons (they are hvyblster 178 and blstrrfl 178 right?

so whats up dude? is it an error on my side or what?

Master Niewiedzial
11-28-2007, 11:40 AM
Can you do that for TSL? Very nice by the way.

Inyri
11-28-2007, 01:44 PM
opened keblastore.utm in the gff editor... no mention of the bryar weapons (they are hvyblster 178 and blstrrfl 178 right?

so whats up dude? is it an error on my side or what?Could be. Did you install it properly?

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 02:27 PM
umm... well i DIDNT use the tslpatcher thingy... i just put them in my override folder manually... theyre not in any subfolder or anything like that... and since the tsl patcher just checks for overriding and then puts them there it shouldnt make a differance...

Inyri
11-28-2007, 02:32 PM
I would recommend following the installation instructions next time. The patcher patches the UTM file, obviously, otherwise there would be no need to use the patcher. The UTM included with the patcher is just the UTM straight out of the game.

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 02:43 PM
heh... really? wow... well now i feel like a moron...

but thats ok... i kinda look like one anyway... :)

Edit: heh... well... installed it proper... now she has it in the store...

bought it... buuuuuut...

its translucent... nearly transparant... i can see stuff through it... but only the body... not the handle (this is the pistol btw)

whats up with that?

Inyri
11-28-2007, 04:42 PM
Sounds like your game either isn't finding or isn't reading the TXI file. Most likely... because it isn't there. Shem failed me this time. Will come up with a fix. :p

In the mean time, just make a txi called bryar_if.txi with the general contents (envmaptexture CM_Baremetal). Since I can cheat the system I'll just replace the archive with a fixed one.

Edit: I've replaced the archive, so all should be well.

herosinger
11-28-2007, 04:59 PM
Fantastic! Congrats on the release of another amazing set of weapons, Inyri.

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 05:00 PM
so i should just download it again?

Inyri
11-28-2007, 05:02 PM
I think it would be easier to just make the TXI, but you can re-download it if you really want to. :p

Kazeite
11-28-2007, 06:32 PM
That's a nice gun, and looks very accurate to ingame version...
I've always preferred version from JKDF2 cutscenes (http://lcfstarwars.free.fr/membres/arkos/armes/arkos_blaster.jpg), though. Looks more elegant to me ;)

Inyri
11-28-2007, 06:54 PM
You want that one too? :p

Oddball_E8
11-28-2007, 07:33 PM
oh i definately want that one! that looks great man!

Master Niewiedzial
11-29-2007, 02:10 AM
And for TSL. Could that be done?

Inyri
11-29-2007, 02:12 AM
It could, if I had TSL installed. Which I don't.

Quanon
11-30-2007, 02:52 PM
It could, if I had TSL installed. Which I don't.

Mind if I peak into the .mdx files in Max ? :p

Great stuff , when's the next weapon release :) , that autmatic triangle minigun shaped gun ( totally forgot its name , but I remember its somthing with Repeater ? ) .

:) to bad we can't do Rocket launchers :lol:

Inyri
11-30-2007, 03:23 PM
The Imperial Repeater? :p I think that's what it's called anyway. Might be interesting, but the whole fun of it was burst shotting a stormie in the chest and watching him fly. :lol:

FYI to put it in TSL all you need to do is compile the models back to ASCII, then compile them back out for TSL with MDLOps (then adjust the UTI files to account for the upgrade differences between the two games). I could do it myself, but I'd have no way to test them to make sure they work properly.

You can also go ahead and look at the models if you want, but, ah... they're not pretty. :p

Shrub91
11-30-2007, 03:37 PM
Wow, that Bryar looks great!

I don't suppose I could convince you to make a JKA version?

Inyri
11-30-2007, 03:43 PM
Are you nuts? That thing is way too high poly for JA. :lol: It has a better chance of working properly in Dark Forces 2. :p

Quanon
11-30-2007, 04:53 PM
Are you nuts? That thing is way too high poly for JA. :lol: It has a better chance of working properly in Dark Forces 2. :p

It just has + 5000 polys :lol:

Then I looked up a regular Kotor gun and there my statistic show 141 polys .

But then again , these don't have nicely modeled vice on them either , some wicked "cooling" fins , a 20 face barrel ... etc lol :D such nice gun .

Yeah the Imperial Reapeter !!!

Or that oversized Dark Trooper "missle" launcher gun , it took like half the screen in DF xD wicked !

Oddball_E8
11-30-2007, 05:11 PM
i have to say tho... its a bit overpowered... might i suggest lowering the powerups a bit or making it available far later in the game? (like maby a pick-up on the leviathan)

Inyri
11-30-2007, 05:15 PM
It just has + 5000 polys

Then I looked up a regular Kotor gun and there my statistic show 141 polys .I told you it wasn't pretty. :p

Arátoeldar
12-03-2007, 01:24 PM
I told you it wasn't pretty. :p

Speaking of DF2JK and JA, are you going to finish those lightsabers that you were working on? :confused:

Inyri
12-03-2007, 01:32 PM
Maybe, maybe not. Doing lightsabers in KotOR makes me very sad, very sad indeed. It's like... a huge bore and takes more time than it's worth.

Arátoeldar
12-03-2007, 01:40 PM
Maybe, maybe not. Doing lightsabers in KotOR makes me very sad, very sad indeed. It's like... a huge bore and takes more time than it's worth.

Understanable :(

Oddball_E8
12-03-2007, 04:09 PM
one thing i kinda thought of just now looking at the pictures is that in the "official" description of he pistol it sais its a cutdown version of the bryar rifle with its barrel shortened and the stock removed...

yet there is no stock on any of the pics (well ive only found one) of the rifle on the net...

maby you should try giving it a stock just for comparison... who knows... might look good...

Darth Xander
12-07-2007, 07:27 AM
Are you nuts? That thing is way too high poly for JA. :lol: It has a better chance of working properly in Dark Forces 2. :p
If only there was a Bryar pistol and rifle in JK2 :lol:

Inyri
12-07-2007, 08:02 AM
Well there is a Bryar pistol in JK2... :p

Shrub91
12-23-2007, 03:54 AM
...but it looks horrible. :D

ThatEvilDude
04-24-2008, 04:51 PM
It's out then Inryi. Looks amazing, i'm in awe at how well they look in game; and being a very big JK fan it's just great to play Kyle's signature weapon in Kotor. Now all we need is a "Convert Carth To Kyle Mod" & "Convert Bastila Into Jan Ors Mod" and my life shall be complete! :D
omg i love JKII although its taking me forever to figure some things out, right now i on narshadaa and i stuck there

spoiler does jan ors really die?
sorry for going off topic...

Inyri
04-24-2008, 04:53 PM
If you go dark side in JK1 she's already dead. :)

Play the game and find out. >.>

ThatEvilDude
04-24-2008, 04:53 PM
[QUOTE=Inyri]Have added the Bryar Pistol (as seen in Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight) and the originating Bryar Rifle to KotOR, which can be purchased from the weapons shop in the Upper City on Taris. Both guns have exactly the same stats... since they're almost exactly the same gun. :p

hate to break it to you also but the game is called Star Wars: Jedi Knight II Jedi Outcast

Inyri
04-24-2008, 04:54 PM
hate to break it to you also but the game is called Star Wars: Jedi Knight II Jedi OutcastNo, actually it's called Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight just like I said. Jedi Outcast uses a significantly differently styled Bryar pistol.

90SK
04-25-2008, 02:47 PM
Just out of curiosity Inyri, why didn't you model the pistol after the Dark Forces version? I always thought that one looked more realistic.

Inyri
04-25-2008, 02:48 PM
Because that's not the reference image I was looking at, mainly. ;)

I don't entirely remember the difference between the DF and JK2 versions. The model is actually a mixture of the render from the Essential Guide to Weapons and Tech and the DF2 version -- I hardly ever do anything 100% one way or the other. I like to mix things up.

90SK
04-25-2008, 03:05 PM
Well, your final product looks pretty good, so no worries. :) I like that you made the rifle counterpart too; was that in the essential guide to weapons and tech too? Or did you improvise?

Inyri
04-25-2008, 03:06 PM
It was mentioned, but no visual so I had to improvise it. Took the easy route on that one. ;)

ThatEvilDude
04-25-2008, 04:41 PM
No, actually it's called Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight just like I said. Jedi Outcast uses a significantly differently styled Bryar pistol.

sorry inyri i'm not familiar with that game so i only know the pistol from JKII

Inyri
04-25-2008, 04:42 PM
I recommend in the future that before you say something you do research to ensure you are correct. :)