PDA

View Full Version : adding new or edited armor models...


RyuuKage
12-11-2007, 04:55 AM
So I want to add some edited models in as new armor UTIs, but I'm not sure how to get the UTI to reference one that doesn't come in the game. An example of how I want to achieve that would be CHAiNz.2da's Segan Wyndh Armor (http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filefront.com/file/Segan_Wyndh_Armor;66246) mod. I know how to make new UTIs, it's just referencing a foreign model that confuses me. XD Any help would be appreciated, hehe.

Thanx in advance!

Breger
12-12-2007, 01:38 PM
Well, I'm not sure I understand all this with modding, but wouldn't it just be possible to name the mdl's and mdx's of your edited models to a certain filename, like g_a_heavyarmor99, or what the real name for what kind of armor you want it as, and then just change the number in the UTI to look for that ending number, like 99.
That's how I think it works, at any rate. You can try it, because it shouldn't be too much different from lightsaber UTI's and mdl's/mdx's, except their properties.

Marius Fett
12-12-2007, 01:42 PM
Breger almost has it, it would be the model variation you would have to change, then probably the name of the uti so as not to confuse yourself :)

Breger
12-12-2007, 01:55 PM
It is that way that it works, isn't it?
The UTI file searches for it's own name on other files, and checks the numbers, the ModelVariation? That's the way I've understood it, but I ain't the brightest of guys.

Marius Fett
12-12-2007, 04:28 PM
The uti is a template file, the game uses the different fields in that template to find out what to equip.

So really speaking you could have a uti called qwerty.uti but as long as the model variation (sometimes texture variation) is pointing at the right model/texture everything will work...

There you go! You learn something new every day XD

RyuuKage
12-12-2007, 08:29 PM
The uti is a template file, the game uses the different fields in that template to find out what to equip.

So really speaking you could have a uti called qwerty.uti but as long as the model variation (sometimes texture variation) is pointing at the right model/texture everything will work...

There you go! You learn something new every day XD

Oh, so as long as i follow the proper file naming conventions, I can just change the numbers in KT and it'll reference the file? Cool. I'll experiment with that right now, hehe.

I'll post results afterwards, since I haven't found any thread mentioning this in here...thanks for the help guys!

Sarthos
12-13-2007, 02:02 AM
Wait, isn't that sorta like what I was asking about? This could be somehow applied to do something like make a rodian model an armor?

RyuuKage
12-14-2007, 10:09 PM
sort of, but i think the rodian is a single model where the head is attached to the body (can't say for sure). I'm just trying to get other human clothes (like Sith and republic uniforms) useable with no glitches, without replacing anything. I think I have a way to do it, but i'd need to add more model variant columns to the Appearance.2da, which as far as I can tell isn't possible. Near as i can tell, adding new body models for player use (without relying on flawed disguises) is impossible without such editing, despite the fact that these bodies are already in-game...annoying to say the least, hehe...

Marius Fett
12-15-2007, 04:58 AM
Wait, isn't that sorta like what I was asking about? This could be somehow applied to do something like make a rodian model an armor?


Not exactly...

I'm pretty sure the Rodian head and body are a single mesh :)

Gavroche
12-15-2007, 12:22 PM
*Get his nose out of .2da modding*
Yeah, the normalhead column for Rodians in appearance.2da is "****", so it's a single mesh.
*Get his nose back in .2da modding*