PDA

View Full Version : Mod planet help please


Exile007
12-28-2007, 06:38 PM
Alright, I am making a mod that adds content to KOTOR 2. It involves going to Coruscant, and I know the module is in the game since the cutscene of the Exile being exiled is in game. The only trouble is that when I extract 950COR and make a shell of the module it puts my character on the Ebon Hawk when I warp to it. Is there a script I have to write? Or do I use a different Module? Help me please!

Lordjedi
12-28-2007, 06:56 PM
so you just want to use one module?

Darth Payne
12-28-2007, 07:15 PM
He's probably going to add more later. (I hope.)

Exile007
12-28-2007, 07:22 PM
Obviously I am, it wouldn't be right to have a whole planet off of one room. That would be kinda dumb. Although can you help me with the module?

Darth Payne
12-28-2007, 07:39 PM
I would love to help.

Unfortunately, i have neither the game nor the skills to do it.

90SK
12-28-2007, 07:48 PM
Try sniffing around the .git / .are files, see if there's some indication of warp points.

Exile007
12-28-2007, 08:10 PM
I can't find anything. I know that someone actually did a Coruscant mod so I wonder how they did it. I really need Coruscant though, since it is gonna be a major part of my Module.

Lordjedi
12-28-2007, 08:15 PM
well ask the author if you could save the module and use it

Exile007
12-28-2007, 09:04 PM
Sorry to be picky, but I wanna do this mod myself. :P

Well, I don't want to use another modders work. I do want help though.

90SK
12-28-2007, 09:13 PM
Just download the mod and see what he did, no need to ask. I learned how to mod by looking at other people's work. The stuff is there as a community resource, and it's silly not to take advantage of it. ;)

Exile007
12-28-2007, 09:45 PM
I just have NO idea even with the mod. I have no clue what the author did.

Qui-Gon Glenn
12-29-2007, 01:24 AM
I just have NO idea even with the mod. I have no clue what the author did.

That's Ok! He did quite a lot... The module in question was not really ready to go, so to speak. There was quite a lot of work involved in making the COR module useful. I believe the author is deathdisco? I am sure that he included the source that s/he wrote. I know there are custom placeable "walls" used to hide the damaged look of the Dantooine sublevel in making it into part of Coruscant.

Planet mod making is a big endeavor. Best wishes!

deathdisco
12-29-2007, 09:04 AM
You set the coordinates in module.ifo Check the Mod_entry_* fields.

Exile007
12-29-2007, 11:32 AM
Do you do that in a GFF editor?

Darth InSidious
12-29-2007, 11:48 AM
Yes.

Marius Fett
12-29-2007, 11:53 AM
Make sure you use K-GFF a custom made one for KotOR as others will corrupt .git .are and .ifo files.

Theres a link in the download section :)

Darth InSidious
12-29-2007, 12:02 PM
Actually, the standard GFF Editor will just corrupt the camera nodes if you try and fiddle with them, as I recall.

Exile007
12-29-2007, 05:30 PM
Awesome! I got it to work, but I don't feel like reskinning, so I'll work on some cutscenes.

stoffe
12-30-2007, 07:57 AM
Actually, the standard GFF Editor will just corrupt the camera nodes if you try and fiddle with them, as I recall.

The problem with using Bioware's GFF Editor for KOTOR modding is that the games introduce two new data types to the GFF format that the NWN editor is not aware of: Rotation and Vector. When Bioware's GFF editor loads a GFF file using any of these field types it doesn't know how to handle them and just silently skips them, essentially deleting them from the file if you save it.

These field data types are fortunately not very commonly used, but the are used in the Camera List structs in .GIT files, and in the Minigame struct in .ARE files, among others.

K-GFF was made specifically for editing KOTOR GFF files, so it handles the Rotation and Vector fields properly.