PDA

View Full Version : Feats and spells


cwby74
01-01-2008, 08:57 PM
Recently i have downloaded the kse editing tool and the kotor tool. and have been looking them over and playing with them a little bit(just to get the feel for them i guess you might say.)

Now im wanting to modify some of the powers or special abilities such as when my character gets lightsaber forms, and force forms since most of the time i only get maybe five out of the seven of the lsforms and 2 of the force forms. and i also notice there where some powers within the spell.2da that doesnt actually show up in the powers list. such as.

XXX_FORM_LIGHTSABER_ANCIENT_I
XXX_FORM_CONSULAR_POWER_OF_THE_DARK_SIDE_III

there is like a total of 10 of those under the consular feats.
the other thing i would like to do is try make the mod so when you get the other pc characters such as mira,atton, bao-dur, handmaiden there or force user from the start instead of going through all the influence garbage.

so the question is what all files do i need to modify to do this, also would like to change the robes or if i have to bao-dur so he can wear the robes.

matinee suxxx
01-01-2008, 09:10 PM
good! im not going insane :) i thought i jus screwed something up when i saw that...lol same with in KotOR 1 wit the spells: here are "undead" spells fireball spells and all that kind of stuff! man i thought i had some screwed up program!

lol sorry im no help

Darth Payne
01-01-2008, 09:11 PM
If you can get this to work, it will be on my DL list.

Ummm, is this for K1 or K2?

matinee suxxx
01-01-2008, 09:15 PM
If you can get this to work, it will be on my DL list.

Ummm, is this for K1 or K2?

i assume its for number 2 since he mentiond Bao-Dur

cwby74
01-01-2008, 09:20 PM
yeah so far this is for kotor 2 since this is my first mod., just needing a little help on what files im needing to modify been looking at some of the files some of them make since while others dont, and im still getting use to kotor tool.

Darth Payne
01-01-2008, 09:21 PM
Oh yeah.

Missed that.

Didn't know there was a similar missing spell list for K1 though.

I hope some one makes a mod that opens those spells on the missing list.

Edit: Well, i'm going to wish you good luck anyway.

Don't think this has been done before.

cwby74
01-01-2008, 09:37 PM
Well from what i have seen out of the list there is approximately 10 consular feats and 18 lightsaber forms that include padawan,sentinel and a couple other 3 feats for each.

Darth Payne
01-01-2008, 10:21 PM
This is starting to soun promesing.

stoffe
01-02-2008, 08:47 AM
i also notice there where some powers within the spell.2da that doesnt actually show up in the powers list. such as.

XXX_FORM_LIGHTSABER_ANCIENT_I
XXX_FORM_CONSULAR_POWER_OF_THE_DARK_SIDE_III

there is like a total of 10 of those under the consular feats.


Lines starting with XXX are leftover garbage that isn't used for anything. Due to how the 2DA files work you can't delete lines from some of them (like spells.2da) without creating a huge amount or trouble, so they've just left unused lines in there for simplicity. (Judging by such remanants in 2DA files and scripts the force/saber form system was quite different at some stage in development.)

Unfortunately I don't think you can do much with those since you can't, to my knowledge, add new saber or force forms to the game and make them show up in the form selector properly.


the other thing i would like to do is try make the mod so when you get the other pc characters such as mira,atton, bao-dur, handmaiden there or force user from the start instead of going through all the influence garbage.


The easiest way of changing that would be to modify the UTC templates these party members are added from to they start out as a force using class. These can generally be found in templates.bif, with names starting with a p_ prefix. This will only work if they haven't already joined the party though, and won't retroactively change any party members you already have in a current game.

Darth Payne
01-02-2008, 08:53 AM
Maybe having it so those force and saber forms are alredy selected would work.

That way it does not matter if they do not show up on the selector menu.

cwby74
01-02-2008, 06:57 PM
Thanks for the info stoffe, kinda sucks to hear that well i might mess around with that more later, ill work on the characters and editing the files to where bao_dur can wear robes.; then work on adding a couple planets.

Darth Payne
01-02-2008, 07:07 PM
Isen't there already a mod out there that lets Bao-Dur wear robes?

cwby74
01-02-2008, 08:00 PM
Isen't there already a mod out there that lets Bao-Dur wear robes?

there is a mod that give bao_dur a robe of his own, called bao_armor but im editing it so he can where any of the robes in the game.

Darth Payne
01-02-2008, 08:03 PM
Ah, ok.

Are you going to release it as a mod?

cwby74
01-02-2008, 08:26 PM
1. if you meaning will i be releasing it so everyone can use it, then yes.
2. Only when im finished and have tested it so as to make sure there are no bugs, but like i said since this is my first time modding any help would be appreciated to all those that know more about this than i do.

I have decided to do a little more of a update to mira,atton, Bao_dur, disciple, and Handmaiden. I have decided to give them all prestige classes. hopefully...lol.

Darth Payne
01-02-2008, 09:24 PM
Man, i'm starting to really look forward to this.

Good luck.

Edit: Yeah, the link works. The pics makes me want this mod even more.

cwby74
01-02-2008, 11:36 PM
Anybody know the best way to edit tga.file or tpc files

jonathan7
01-02-2008, 11:46 PM
Personally I use Photoshop to edit .tga; I dunno what a .tpc file does...

TamerBill
01-03-2008, 03:15 AM
Lines starting with XXX are leftover garbage that isn't used for anything.

Not entirely true; some of the cut force powers and feats still work, if re-introduced. Weapon Specialisation (Grenade), for instance, is still referenced in the grenade scripts and therefore still works. Also, while you can't edit forms there is nothing stopping you from giving scripts to cut force powers, or new ones entirely, and placing them in the game. And if nothing else, most of the cut stuff still has unique icons, so you can steal them for mods.

cwby74
01-03-2008, 09:17 PM
well thanks for the information, well it may take me a little bit on these ill need to pull the icons that i need. looks like thats what im going to need photoshop or one of those others that was mentioned in the post about editing. worked on all the character files last night and got most of them done, still trying to find the file thats either restricting baodur on the robes so its either in the robes files or i missing something in the appearance files thats restricting him on it.

some of the planets that im thinking about adding is corusucant and tatooine, and maybe ossus. but if anyone else has any other idea's or dont think those would be good let me know.

Darth Payne
01-03-2008, 09:23 PM
You could always take a look at the Bao-Dur robe mod you mentioned.

If you check the files in that mod you could find out how it was done.

cwby74
01-03-2008, 09:46 PM
ok well leave it to the other people in this forum to point out the obvious, thanks i didnt quite think of that one till you pointed that one out. .....duh. after fourteen hours at work and five hours of sleep will do that to you.

Qui-Gon Glenn
01-04-2008, 02:33 AM
Regarding fireballs and stuff --

Vestiges of NWN.

@TamerBill - good point. I handed realized that the Grenade Specialization feat worked... I've never tried adding it.

Feat building would be a neat thing to accomplish. Best wishes.

cwby74
01-05-2008, 12:03 AM
hello everyone, just giving an update i think i found the solution to why baodur couldnt wear the robes so hopefully i have that figured out, will be testing it out tomorrow. still editing everyone with prestige classes some of them evil some of them good may just make one of each, so you evil people can have the evil sided ones and the good guys can have there's.

cwby74
01-06-2008, 12:20 PM
Ok anybody know what file i need to edit to start the exile off with. i have changed most of the classes on all the other npc's now im wanted to modifiy the exile's. or am i going to have to wait until i create him first.

Edit: ok, i added all the feats and jedi classes to each of the characters, each of the characters have prestige classes, i have also change the appearance of visas so she can actually wear the robes and without the viel for those who would want her that way. also made it to where bao dur can wear jedi robes, found out what was denying him access to that, so hopefully i have that fixed.

I am trying this mod out as we speak (just started) the way this is suppose to work is when meeting the new party they will start off with the jedi prestige classes.

I am needing help with scripts so if anyone has more knowledge about this than i do, please any help would be appreciated.

cwby74
01-07-2008, 06:53 PM
Update: installed the mods on this and so far it as work, now i am working on editing the dialogs so as when it come's time for the ability to change that party over to jedi during normal game time it doesnt interfere with the one's chosen when started off. Im also in need of someone's expertise when editing the dlg files and scripts im going to give a wack. so hopefully i do it right...