PDA

View Full Version : Playing Dark Forces I on XP


CrisG
01-03-2008, 11:31 PM
I have seen a number of various postings about running Dark Forces on XP but wondered if anyone has tried and succeeded with any specific way to make it work, I can run it with DOS box and FrontEnd and VMR Sound, but wondered if anyone had a better suggestion. thanks.

-BLaCKouT-
01-04-2008, 03:06 AM
I can run the executable staight through windows. I only get sound effects but no music, and the graphics are a little flickery, but I can live with that. I had trouble running it when I re-installed my system, but after I ran SP2 and installed the updates, it ran fine.

I was never able to configure DOSbox to run it smoothly enough :(

Forceboat
01-04-2008, 11:16 AM
You could try over at df-21.net; I think they have a couple of methods posted in their message board and in the articles section of their site about how you can get it to run under Windows XP. Good luck.

CrisG
01-04-2008, 09:37 PM
I visited the df site and they do indeed have an excellent list of ways to use XP, all you need to do is enable the music file and the main game files with VDMS sound and it runs sweet with full music and sound and sound effects and even speech for the in game dialog! What a treat. I will report more as I progress. thanks again, glad there is at least one forum devoted to DF around still. They are even making new levels! :) Mr Chin woudl be very pleased.

Monkey Mania
01-25-2008, 05:23 PM
Dosbox works very well if you have a fast computer.

urluckyday
01-25-2008, 06:14 PM
^Agreed...probably best option for ya...

DeadYorick
01-30-2008, 02:19 AM
Maybe you could go to properties and select "Run as windows 98/95?" Maybe that could work. Anyway there are probably hundreds of methods

Ham Yoyo
02-12-2008, 02:49 AM
Dosbox works fine for me. Everything is fast and smooth. I have a P4 2.53 GHz.