PDA

View Full Version : creating a new item


BrollytheMighty
01-17-2008, 04:24 PM
Now I'm not exactly sure of how this works. what i want to do is create a new circlet for K1, but i want to use the circlet model already present in the game files. I thought just changing the items description, abilities, and tag would work but the new item won't show up in KSE. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Ferc Kast
01-17-2008, 04:30 PM
Did you save it as a different file name from the original? If not, that could be the problem.

BrollytheMighty
01-17-2008, 04:42 PM
Yes i did save it as a different filename from any other headgear. It's filename is "g_i_mask25.uti".

Marius Fett
01-18-2008, 11:42 AM
Did you remember to put the .uti in your Override folder?

BrollytheMighty
01-19-2008, 10:58 PM
yes i did. These are the steps I took.
1. Opened the "Empress Teta Royal Band" in Kotor Tool.
2. Changed everything I wanted to change.
3. Saved it as "g_i_mask25.uti" (I used "25" because I checked gamebanshee.com and Kotor Tool and found the headgear templates stop at "24".)
4. Moved it to my Override folder for K1.
5. I checked and it wasn't listed in Kotor Tool.

lactose_
01-20-2008, 06:15 AM
Do your tag and resref fields also say "g_i_mask25"?

Marius Fett
01-20-2008, 01:48 PM
New items don't get listed in KotOR Tool.

You should be able to get it ingame though.

BrollytheMighty
01-20-2008, 05:57 PM
actually, lactose, I do not believe I did change those fields. What would changing those fields do?

Ferc Kast
01-20-2008, 08:02 PM
If you didn't change those fields, then you're overriding "g_i_mask24" (instead of making a new item). Those fields make items unique (and non-overriding). :D

BrollytheMighty
01-20-2008, 08:18 PM
ahh, i see. so, if want to use the Teta's Royal Headband as a base, I just have to change those fields and save it as the correct title. Is this correct?

Ferc Kast
01-20-2008, 08:40 PM
Yes, that is correct.

BrollytheMighty
01-21-2008, 03:23 AM
thank you for all your help. This will indeed help me in creating new items.

lactose_
01-21-2008, 09:58 AM
I actually got it right? Haha I don't even have KSE. Oh well you/I learn something new every day :)