PDA

View Full Version : [TSL] Script Parameters


Stream
01-19-2008, 10:31 AM
Hey all - I'm trying to create a script that contains several parameters to save having to write numerous separate scripts, if I use this code it complies fine

void main()
{
int nParam1 = GetScriptParameter(1);

if ((nParam1 == 1)) {

object oPC=GetFirstPC();

CreateItemOnObject("g_w_shortsbr01", oPC);
}
else {

if ((nParam1 == 2)) {
object oPC=GetFirstPC();

CreateItemOnObject("g_w_shortsbr02", oPC);

}
else {

if ((nParam1 == 3)) {
object oPC=GetFirstPC();

CreateItemOnObject("g_w_shortsbr03", oPC);
}
}
}
}
But I want it to also contain some conditional functions as well and this is where I run into some problems - if I change the script to read this it no longer complies;

void main()
{
int nParam1 = GetScriptParameter(1);

if ((nParam1 == 1)) {

int StartingConditional()

return (GetJournalEntry("deadlyictra")==110);
}
else {

if ((nParam1 == 2)) {
object oPC=GetFirstPC();

CreateItemOnObject("g_w_shortsbr02", oPC);

}
else {

if ((nParam1 == 3)) {
object oPC=GetFirstPC();

CreateItemOnObject("g_w_shortsbr03", oPC);
}
}
}
}
That first part complies fine in a script of it's own so I'm guessing either I need to change it a little or you can't use conditionals in a script like this - dear god I hope it's not the latter.

If anyone could give me a little help I'd be very greatful.

Kind Regards

--Stream

stoffe
01-20-2008, 03:19 PM
But I want it to also contain some conditional functions as well and this is where I run into some problems - if I change the script to read this it no longer complies;


It looks like you are trying to make a script that's both a conditional and action script in one. These two are handled differently and as such should be in separate scripts since you can only have one starter function in a script.

Conditional scripts have an StartingConditional() starter function that returns either true (>0) or false (0). Action scripts have a main() starter function that doesn't return any value.

Stream
01-20-2008, 03:35 PM
Sorry I should've been more specific with the post, I don't actually intend on using both conditionals and actions in the same script, that script was just a test to see how to do it and instead of actually trying to do one that only contained conditionals I assumed that it can't be done.

Anyway thanks once again stoffe, you're really helping me out a lot here - If we ever meet I owe you a lot of drinks.

Take care

--Stream