PDA

View Full Version : [K1] Recruitment for the Restoration of the delteted Shadowland level


Seamhainn
01-21-2008, 05:20 AM
Hello!

I am working on the restoration of the deleted Shadowland level. As a matter of fact, as absolutely NOTHING was put in that level by the developers before it was cut, it essentially is already restored :-) .

My idea is to put a small story/quest in this particular area (which is open to discussion). What I need is a proficient scripter as I have many questions to accomplish most everything scriptwise.

Some notes:

- The story should/will be contained in the deleted level - so nothing elaborate which has repurcassions on other areas/planets/storylines or whatever.

- If I dig into something I usually don't let go. Any partner in crime should be aware that many communication might go there an back again.

Take care

DarthJebus05
01-21-2008, 07:27 AM
I would join you, but I still fairly suck at scripting. Call me if you need me though.

Darth Payne
01-21-2008, 07:38 AM
I always thought Kashyyk was too small a level.

If i knew anything about modding i'd help.

Good luck with this though.

Taak Farst
01-21-2008, 12:50 PM
I can't help u as im busy with my Pingag but I must say u should be on the K1RP team, coz alhough u are doing small resttoraions, ur doing them a hell of a lot faster

Seamhainn
01-21-2008, 01:10 PM
I can't help u as im busy with my Pingag but I must say u should be on the K1RP team, coz alhough u are doing small resttoraions, ur doing them a hell of a lot faster

K1RP did not want my help when I offered it ;-) . Unfortunately I know next to nothing about scripting, but also unfortunately I can't help it at the moment. All I do scriptingwise is pure guesswork and I need always the help of the scripters in the community. Its an unsatisfactory situation, but, as I said, I can't help it at the moment.

Take care

Sithspecter
01-21-2008, 02:02 PM
Hey Seaheinn, I can model pretty well. If you want me to make like a Wookie gun that looks something like the ones in Episode 3, I'll do it for you! Just PM me and I'll get right to work on it!

Seamhainn
01-21-2008, 02:17 PM
Hey Seaheinn, I can model pretty well. If you want me to make like a Wookie gun that looks something like the ones in Episode 3, I'll do it for you! Just PM me and I'll get right to work on it!

Thanks for the nice offer. I'll keep in touch if I need some modeling, but right now its to early for that.

CrisG
01-21-2008, 03:21 PM
Story could involve the main quest maybe, as the PC will be going in there, maybe that was what they intended originally......could put some of the spiders in there for sure, and possibly a Ced. employee lost from the main team, might be able to patch up a dialogue from the existing files like Darth333 did for the droid mod that used bits of existing voice files. It would be good to have full voice dialogue. You also might include some objects for the player to find, a wookie item or two might be great and indeed a wookie could be a lost hermit down there escaping from the conflict above. Great to see the restoration work continuing so well Seamhainn. Remeberr to ask about beyond this forum for script help as the communty extends beyond here and many are very nice and helpful. And you are indeed learning "on the job" as each step will help us all know what is needed to complete these mods. :)

Taak Farst
01-21-2008, 04:07 PM
Hey Seaheinn, I can model pretty well. If you want me to make like a Wookie gun that looks something like the ones in Episode 3, I'll do it for you! Just PM me and I'll get right to work on it!
Are you talking about Wookie Bowcasters?

sekan
01-21-2008, 04:19 PM
You also might include some objects for the player to find, a wookie item

Hmm this gives me i theory about what i said in team jawas forums about the wookie amulet.


#58 (Provided by Sekan) - A lightsaber crystal called Wookie amulet was cut from the game as evidence by it's template and other information found in upgrade.2da

The Template has the name "kas25_wookcrysta" which means you originally found it in the upper Shadowlands (the name of the upper shadowlands rim file is m25aa).


In lost modules pack ( Thanks Darth InSidious BTW ) the deleted shadowland name is m25ab. This could mean that "kas25_wookcrysta" was supposed to be found in the deleted level but when that part of the shadowland was cut the wookie crystal may have been cut too .

Darth Payne
01-21-2008, 04:27 PM
That gives me an idea.

Perhaps a quest, where you have to help a wookie. Like the wounded wookie (The one you find fighting mandalorians), instead of getting a sword you get the amulet.

sekan
01-21-2008, 04:32 PM
That gives me an idea.

Perhaps a quest, where you have to help a wookie. Like the wounded wookie (The one you find fighting mandalorians), instead of getting a sword you get the amulet.

Dang

You win the first prize.

Comments in the uti file of wookie crystal


This is the lightsaber crystal acquired from the hurt wookie in kas_m25aa
Add appropriate abilities.

Seamhainn
01-21-2008, 04:36 PM
@sekan: Yes, I thought about that amulet already, too. But as it happens it is much to early to ponder where to put it yet.

@All: For my taste there are enough Wookiee related quests already. I had some other thing in mind which involves the Wookiees but only touches the problem of the furballs and might give some glimpses of their future.

Shall I give it all away already? Nah...

FrustrationMan
01-23-2008, 06:18 PM
K1RP did not want my help when I offered it ;-) . Unfortunately I know next to nothing about scripting, but also unfortunately I can't help it at the moment. All I do scriptingwise is pure guesswork and I need always the help of the scripters in the community. Its an unsatisfactory situation, but, as I said, I can't help it at the moment.

Take care

It's ironic really. They didn't want your help and now you've done more than they did. Thanks for doing this!

Darth Balor
01-23-2008, 06:40 PM
I'll help. I've been working on connecting this area to the first and third areas of the shadowlands.

EDIT: I've succesfully made it so that when passing through the jolee only force filed you enter this level.

Seamhainn
01-24-2008, 01:32 AM
I'll help. I've been working on connecting this area to the first and third areas of the shadowlands.

EDIT: I've succesfully made it so that when passing through the jolee only force filed you enter this level.

I connected the two level already as well (though at another place) :-) . I implemented the relevant Waypoints (Notes) on the maps already also.

Take care