PDA

View Full Version : possible to add planets to the nav. computer in K1?


VadersHand
01-25-2008, 09:21 PM
The scripting to transition from one planet to a user created one is beyond me at the moment, though I am learning with the great tutorials found here.

My question is-

In KOTOR 1, Can you add a planet slot to the Ebon Hawk's Nav. Computer, or edit the existing ones to your liking (i.e- reskin the planet link that you click, reskin the 3D planet pictured in the lower right) ?

Darth Payne
01-25-2008, 09:43 PM
Redhawkes Ord Mandell mod does add a planet to the galaxymap.

Is that what you meant?

VadersHand
01-25-2008, 10:36 PM
I stumbled upon this while searching through the forums, which pretty much answers my question :)


Here's some more information regarding the graphical representation of new planets. The planetary.2da file has two fields of importance: icon and model. The first is a reference to a .tga file. The second is a reference to an .mdl/.mdx set.

To create a new planet icon on the Galaxy Map
Extract an existing planet icon (eg. "lbl_ikash.tpc") using KotOR Tool under ERFs->TexturePacks->swpc_tex_gui.erf (L section).
Convert the .tpc to .tga using tpc2tga utility.
Modify the .tga file as you please. Save it as 32-bit uncompressed .tga with a name as designated in the planetary.2dafor the "Live Planets" (eg. "lbl_live04.tga").
Put the file in your override folder.
To create a new planet model on the Galaxy Map (the slow rotating planet that zooms in):
Extract the .mdl/.mdx files from the models.bif for "lplanet_01.mdl" and "lplanet_01.mdx". You'll need to make sure you have the "Enable Model BIF node in tree" option selected in KotOR Tool.
Rename the .mdl/.mdx set with a name as designated in the planetary.2da for "Live Planets" (eg. "lplanet_04.mdl", "lplanet_04.mdx")
Extract any existing planet's texture from ERFs->TexturePacks->swpc_tex_gui.erf (G section). They're named something like "GUI_KORRIBAN_1.tpc".
Convert the .tpc to .tga using tpc2tga utility.
Modify the .tga as you please. Save it as 32-bit uncompressed .tga with a name formatted as "GUI_xxxxx_1" (eg. "GUI_SLEHE_1"). This will make sure the name has the same number of characters as the original.
Save the .tga in the override folder.
Hex Edit the .mdl file from step 2. Replace the one instance of the original texture name to the new texture name (eg. Find "GUI_YAVIN_1" and replace with "GUI_SLEHE_1"). Replace the 4 instances of the original model name to the modified name (eg. Find "lplanet_01" and replace with "lplanet_04"). Save the modification.

RedHawke
01-26-2008, 01:29 PM
Tut for adding planets to galaxy map in KotOR I (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=127001)