PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard help!


Ghost Down
02-20-2008, 01:29 PM
Hello,

I want to upgrade my system and I am looking for a motherboard with PCI-E 2.0 support.

Any idea which one is worth getting?

Rogue Nine
02-20-2008, 01:34 PM
Moving to the tech forum so we can better help you.

First off, what processor are you looking to plug into this motherboard, AMD or Intel? And if you're 'upgrading' your system by replacing your motherboard, then what parts do you have to work with already?

Ghost Down
02-20-2008, 01:37 PM
Well, I am getting an Intel processor, sockett 775. Probably a Extreme or Quad core. I am also aiming for 4GB DDR3 Memory. And I am getting this GPU; Gainward GeForce 8800GT 1GB GDDR3, PCI-Express 2.0

Rogue Nine
02-20-2008, 02:28 PM
For motherboards I would go with the GIGABYTE P35-DS3L (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059) as it's generally agreed upon to be the best non-SLI option out there right now.

Is there any reason you're going to get 4 gigs of DDR3 memory? 4 gigs is pretty excessive right now, even for Vista and DDR3 is definitely far too excessive at this point in time, especially when DDR2 performs just as well with the current hardware. DDR3 will become the standard option a year or two down the line, but as it is, it's not very cost effective to get it now as nothing really requires it.

Negative Sun
02-20-2008, 06:33 PM
Totally agree with Niner here, DDR3 is a waste of money right now, I've you've got money to burn, but yourself a nicer monitor or a better graphics card, but DDR3 shouldn't even be considered.

DDR2 800Mhz or the faster 1066Mhz is dirt cheap atm, and 4Gb of that, even in Vista, will be more than plenty to keep you going mate.

Don't overdo it on the CPU either, if you go Intel, there's no reason to get anything other than the Q6600 G0 stepping, as it is not only one of the cheapest Quads out there, it can also overclock to a performance as good as 3.2Ghz, which would cost you about 4 times that price if you bought a CPU with that stock speed ;)

For the motherboard, I agree with Niner again, the Intel P35 chipset is a solid choice for price/performance these days.

Ghost Down
02-21-2008, 02:26 AM
Ok, thanks. I was mainly getting DDR3 because I wanna make sure my rig lasts another 4 to 5 years without any upgrading..

Rogue Nine
02-21-2008, 02:33 AM
Ah, the old future-proofing argument. For now, you'd be better off just getting a 2GB (4GB if you reaaaaaaaaaally have to have it) kit of DDR2 RAM. See my new hardware megathread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?p=2427760#post2427760) for good recommendations on that.[/shameless plug] By the time DDR3 is the new standard, it will have gone down in price to the point where you could get it for the same price you can get DDR2 now, as opposed to paying $250+ presently.

Astrotoy7
02-21-2008, 07:19 AM
yep, you're better off waiting on the RAM front Ghost. with an x4 CPU and the 8800GT, theyres plenty of fun to be had even with DDR2.

Im assuming youre planning on a 64bit OS, as 4GB is otherwise even more pointless.

I use Vista 64bit with 4GB, and outside of the video editing apps I use didnt see my system taxed with 2 or 3GB with games n such.

mtfbwya

El Sitherino
02-21-2008, 10:51 AM
If you want 4GB of RAM save your money by getting DDR2 and then you can make use of that 4GB by setting up some dual monitor goodness.

Run a game while you watch a movie.

Ghost Down
02-21-2008, 11:39 AM
Haha, ok thanks all!

Astrotoy7
02-22-2008, 05:55 AM
Run a game while you watch a movie.

one of which must be uninteresting to do so properly :D

I used to do this with a secondary touchscreen LCD monitor, mainly for half-watchin sports while I was surfin. But if you are the ones who pays the electricity bill, the folly of this eventually dawns upon you :p

mtfbwya

Ghost Down
02-22-2008, 06:38 AM
I just saw that the GIGABYTE P35-DS3L motherboard doesn't support PCI-Express 2.0, are there any motherboards out there which do support PCI-Express 2.0 and aren't that expensive?

Rogue Nine
02-22-2008, 10:06 AM
No, all the mobos with Intel's X38 chipset are around the $200 and up range. If you absolutely must have one, I'd recommend this one (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131227). You'll probably end up having to flash the BIOS.

Ghost Down
02-22-2008, 10:12 AM
Why would I end up flashing the BIOS?

Rogue Nine
02-22-2008, 10:14 AM
If you're getting one of Intel's newest processors, then the BIOS will need to be updated.

Ghost Down
02-22-2008, 10:15 AM
Ah, ok. Thanks!