PDA

View Full Version : Whats your native rez?


Astrotoy7
03-24-2008, 11:03 AM
Relevant to a discussion elsewhere about prevalent monitor standards, please take the time to fill in the native (max)resolution of your pc monitor >> regardless of whether its LCD, CRT. Even include a TV or laptop display >> basically if its displaying a pc please list it!

This is purely what the max rez your display supports, not what you have to dumb it down to get crysis at 10fps :p This is merely to determine what is most prevalent amongst displays we have.

As gaming rez is subjective depending on what pc hardware you have and what game you are playing, that is for another discussion!

For those that have multiple displays, as many of us do, Ive allowed more than one choice so we can get more displays represented.

If you have one of those unusual figures Ive missed, write it in a post below

It will be interesting to see what the results are, I think LFN techies are a decent slice of the pc'ing crowd in general.

EDIT: If you have more than one monitor at the same native rez, please list it in a post.

I have 2 displays at 1360x768(my htpc displays), so +1 for that category.

mtfbwya

Inyri
03-24-2008, 11:21 AM
At home my laptop's native rez is 1280 x 800 which is not in your poll. >.>

This poor sucker at work is capped at 1024 x 768.

urluckyday
03-24-2008, 11:51 AM
I am also running at 1280 x 800...widescreen laptop...

Titanius Anglesmith
03-24-2008, 03:31 PM
20 inch widescreen at 1680x1050. Crysis is still fun at 1280x960. :xp:

Rogue Nine
03-24-2008, 03:38 PM
Got a 22" widescreen running at 1680x1050 and an old, but still-serviceable 15" CRT running at 1024x768, because anything with more pixels hurts my eyes after looking at my LCD display.

Oh, and riding 1280x960 LCD here at work. \m/

Negative Sun
03-24-2008, 03:50 PM
1024x768 CRT, bottom of the food chain :xp:

Note to a mod/mods: In your profile on these forums, it asks what rez you run your screen at, isn't it possible to look at a chart of all the members' inputs on that?
Just for the sake of helping Astro's mission ;)

stingerhs
03-24-2008, 08:15 PM
2 monitors:

Gateway VX700 CRT @ 1600x1200
EMachines CRT @ 1280x1024

Q
03-24-2008, 10:05 PM
1680x1050 22" Acer AL2216W LCD.

El cheapo but great for what I use it for.

1024x768 CRT, bottom of the food chain :xp:
Hey, at least your video card demands are low. ;)

Jae Onasi
03-24-2008, 11:07 PM
Desktop is 1600 x 1200. Laptop is 1440 x 900.

Marius Fett
03-25-2008, 07:23 AM
My desktop is 1280 x 1024 and my laptop is 1280 x 800.

Astrotoy7
03-25-2008, 10:06 AM
thanks for the results all. A trend seems to be developing for desktop vs lappie :)


I forgot to add the asus eee >> (which I use minimally and is currently located at work) at 800x600. It can be hacked to display a higher rez, but due to its mode/frequency of use(collating field data), this type of fiddling isnt required.

*adds to poll*

EDIT> my 1337 mod powerz have allowed me to add 1280 x 800 to the above poll, for inyri, urluckyday and Dingdong ;)

mtfbwya

Inyri
03-25-2008, 10:47 AM
<3 And now I have voted. :D

Patience really is a virtue I guess. :xp:

Pho3nix
03-25-2008, 11:19 AM
1280 x 1024 <3

urluckyday
03-25-2008, 01:25 PM
Thanks Astro. It's good to have my weird resolution represented lol.

tk102
03-25-2008, 03:26 PM
This would've been a good Lucaforums main page poll.

Edit: screw it, I'm stealing it.

Credit: Astrotoy7 and the General Tech Discussion forum. :D

Inyri
03-25-2008, 03:27 PM
Gee, tk, way to be on top of things. :p

Lock this thread, wait two weeks, and put it up as the main-page poll. No one will remember! <3

Fixed ~tk

tk102
03-25-2008, 06:05 PM
Note to a mod/mods: In your profile on these forums, it asks what rez you run your screen at, isn't it possible to look at a chart of all the members' inputs on that?
Just for the sake of helping Astro's mission ;)
Results of that:

1024x768 10597
1280x1024 143
1440x900 26
1600x1200 17
1680x1050 38
1900x1200 22
640x480 661
800x600 2959
Higher than 1024x768 6896

Remember, this count was accumulated over a period of at least 4 years (if not longer) and some of the choices are only from the last 6 months. I doubt many users have bothered to update their profile when they got new monitors.

Inyri
03-25-2008, 06:08 PM
tk, your fixes are no fun.

Speaking of the above, though, add 1280x800 as an option in the profile? It's fairly common for lap-top users I think.

Negative Sun
03-25-2008, 06:44 PM
I forgot to add the asus eee
You *******! I want one of those!

I thought the rez on that was 800x480 or something though, not 800x600.

You need to start a thread on how awesome it is and tell me all about it!!!


Remember, this count was accumulated over a period of at least 4 years (if not longer) and some of the choices are only from the last 6 months. I doubt many users have bothered to update their profile when they got new monitors.
Fair enough, thanks for that!

Calo Fergus
03-25-2008, 07:26 PM
I'm pretty sure that mine is 1024 x 768 but how do i check?

Negative Sun
03-25-2008, 07:47 PM
I'm pretty sure that mine is 1024 x 768 but how do i check?
When using Windows, right-click your desktop, click on "Properties" and go to the tab "Settings", you'll see it there ;)

mimartin
03-25-2008, 08:11 PM
1280 X 800 at home, have no clue at work.

Added: Work 1680 x 1050

Jeff
03-25-2008, 09:06 PM
I have a Samsung 22" monitor running at 1680x1050. Love it. :D

Jasper_Kazai
03-25-2008, 10:07 PM
17'' widescreen, 1440x900. Yeah, I know it's not really huge, but I don't care. It's better than my old CRT, which is 1024x768 and I think around 15''.

Hayden Kered
03-25-2008, 11:38 PM
I voted 1024x768 for my desktop computer but my laptop is not listed, its native rez is at 1280x768

Serpentine Cougar
03-26-2008, 12:24 AM
I have a Samsung 22" monitor running at 1680x1050. Love it. :D

Same. :D

Crow_Nest
03-26-2008, 05:19 AM
1024x768

Yeah im still on 15'inch

MachineCult
03-26-2008, 08:30 AM
1440x900

19 inch widescreen.

Tommycat
03-26-2008, 08:31 AM
Haha you want my work computers.... ok...

work: 3 17" monitors running 1024x768. also 4 34" plasma screens running 1600x900, 6 separate workstations with 2 monitors a piece, and I use them all...

Home. 2 20.1" lcd's at 1600x1200.

Ray Jones
03-26-2008, 04:28 PM
at work: 1280x1024
at home: 1280x800 & 1024x768

:)

Sabretooth
03-26-2008, 10:09 PM
1024x768

Yeah im still on 15'inch
Yeah! \m/

Anything higher makes my icons look measly small and I ain't gonna go tweaking them.

Writer
03-27-2008, 04:12 PM
So I've got this three year old laptop... the highest setting I can choose is 2048x1536...

... but anything over 1024x768, and I have to 'scroll' from one side of the screen to the other... 'cuz everything looks pretty much the same, it just runs off the edge of my screen! :p

tk102
03-27-2008, 04:18 PM
Haha you want my work computers.... ok...

work: 3 17" monitors running 1024x768. also 4 34" plasma screens running 1600x900, 6 separate workstations with 2 monitors a piece, and I use them all...

Home. 2 20.1" lcd's at 1600x1200.
Tommycat working (http://blogs.citypages.com/amadzine/clockwork3.jpg)

Char Ell
03-28-2008, 12:02 AM
Results of that:

1024x768 10597
1280x1024 143
1440x900 26
1600x1200 17
1680x1050 38
1900x1200 22
640x480 661
800x600 2959
Higher than 1024x768 6896

Remember, this count was accumulated over a period of at least 4 years (if not longer) and some of the choices are only from the last 6 months. I doubt many users have bothered to update their profile when they got new monitors. *** raises hand *** I updated mine!!! :angel:

I picked 1900 x 1200 since it was the closest to the 1920 x 1200 of my monitor's native max rez.

Jasper_Kazai
03-28-2008, 06:47 AM
I never knew more resolution options were added to the profile... I remembered to change mine, but the only choice was "higher than 1024x768".

Cmdr. Cracken
03-29-2008, 07:23 PM
Spectre 22" Widescreen at 1680*1050
Mitsubishi 17" at 1280*1024

Tommycat
03-31-2008, 02:07 AM
Tommycat working (http://blogs.citypages.com/amadzine/clockwork3.jpg)
Haha pretty close. I have a whole bunch of monitoring tools up and running that I need to have available. And I work nights, so I really could use that head gear haha... preferably without the mind alterations that came with ACO. But if it has to be, then all right... Gosh I'll miss me Ludwig Von...

Astrotoy7
04-07-2008, 12:26 AM
You *******! I want one of those!

I thought the rez on that was 800x480 or something though, not 800x600.

You need to start a thread on how awesome it is and tell me all about it!!!

I did do a thread about it in an OLPC related thingy, but this was before I got mine. I seriously recommend waiting til July-ish until the 9" version comes out, then hav ea good look at the two and decide what you want. I have a feeling the 7" versions are going to become less prevalent after the 9" version come out >> and will drop in price until sold out. From a portability POV though, they are absolutely awesome... even a 9" version is nowhere near as easily portable.

mtfbwya