PDA

View Full Version : grannen or brief


NiKo
08-24-2001, 08:58 AM
lets see if you can help me out here, i bought broken sword 1 and 2. i installed BS1 and it went okay. but when i pressed 'play game' i got that annoying 'error! this program has performed an ilegal opeation and will be shutt down' message.
thats that,

trying to install/play BS2 i got the message couldnt find cluster B or D...

if you cant help me then nevermind coz i'm not that game crazy. but still, i wanna know what i spent 5 bucks at. http://www.escapemi.com/forums/smile.gif

------------------
http://publish.hometown.aol.co.uk/mtthwris/myhomepage/668sig.jpg?mtbrand=AOL_UK
~ if you rewind, you can hear Satan singing a duet with Ricky martin~

grannen
08-24-2001, 09:38 AM
1. Uninstall the game.
2. Run "ScanDisk" including check of surface.
3. Reinstall Windows.
4. Reinstall the game.

If you want to be more thorough then you should run "Defrag" before you reinstall Windows.

A PC has to be treated like a car. It needs checkups after a while, it doesn't run forever without service. http://www.escapemi.com/forums/smile.gif

------------------
http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Calvin.gif http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Hobbes.gif and Grannen

[This message has been edited by Grannen (edited August 24, 2001).]

NiKo
08-24-2001, 09:46 AM
erm, i have problems with reinstalling windows, i'm affraid to do it... http://www.escapemi.com/forums/biggrin.gif

grannen
08-24-2001, 09:55 AM
What problem? Insert the CD, answer the reg-code and country then you can leave the pc alone. Nothing is removed from other files or programs.

But I think you should do a complete ScanDisk because it reported bad clusters.
------------------
http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Calvin.gif http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Hobbes.gif and Grannen

[This message has been edited by Grannen (edited August 24, 2001).]

NiKo
08-24-2001, 09:57 AM
okay i'll give it a trye. thanks grannen http://www.escapemi.com/forums/smile.gif
i'll let you know if it went okay.
will it solve the BS2 broblem to?

grannen
08-24-2001, 11:33 AM
It could be that part of the BS program used "bad clusters" on your hard drive and that's why it doesn't work.
That's why I recommend a complete ScanDisk. Such clusters will then be earmarked as "bad" and will not be used in the future.

NiKo
08-24-2001, 12:40 PM
err bad news for me.
i couldnt find my windows98 disc. only the 95 one...no way i'm installing that.

grannen
08-24-2001, 01:08 PM
Run the ScanDisk anyway. Do it during the night because it will take several hours
depending the size of the disk and how much has been used.


------------------
http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Calvin.gif http://www.guybrush.homestead.com/files/Hobbes.gif and Grannen